We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly disappointing”
Review of The Red Tin Roof

The Red Tin Roof
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Red Tin Roof is a restaurant and guesthouse situated in the heart of the Riebeek Valley. Our style is fun, eclectic and laid back. We serve locally sourced, South African-style food including pumpkin fritters, biltong pizza, bobotie samoosas, Angus steaks, pies, stews and fabulous, crispy salads. Sunday is roast lunch and you do need to book. Watch our webpage for live music events too!
Restaurant details
Description: Red Tin Roof is a restaurant and guesthouse situated in the heart of the Riebeek Valley. Our style is fun, eclectic and laid back. We serve locally sourced, South African-style food including pumpkin fritters, biltong pizza, bobotie samoosas, Angus steaks, pies, stews and fabulous, crispy salads. Sunday is roast lunch and you do need to book. Watch our webpage for live music events too!
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We reserved a table for Saturday night and arrived at 7.15 and left at 9.15 without eating. I continuously requested our food and were told it was on its way. People arrived after us and had finished eating , saw some send back their food. When asked where the manager or owners where, we told that they weren't around. Was so looking forward to this dinner, but left starving and went elsewhere.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Had an awesome night, great atmosphere and food. Very snappy service. Would highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We are newcomers from Cape Town to the village. After being at Kasteelberg and ordering food we waited for over an hour. When enquiring at the waiter we got told after an hour and approximately 20min that our food order was just put through to the kitchen. The place was not busy at all. In short this place is an absolute disaster. Don't waist your time or money.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Gilda-Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

This restaurant has fish and chips out of this world and tartare sauce out of this universe. This place is the PLACE to be in Riebeek kasteel.. hands down this best food I’ve had here..... will definitely be back as much as possible lovely staff and awesome atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JoshS3734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

One of the best hidden gems in Riebeeck Kasteel. The food is fantastic. It is lovely to sit outside underneat the big old pepper tree , but in summer it can get quite hot there. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. the food is great.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank mvtouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Tin Roof also viewed

Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek-West, Western Cape
 

Been to The Red Tin Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing