We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An insult to good food!”
Review of Kasteelberg Bistro

Kasteelberg Bistro
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Worst meal in 10 years. Food (tapas) was exceedingly bad with rancid port belly etc. Waiter was also clueless and attitude could not care. When we wanted to complain to the owner just brushed it of as if it was our fault for not having good taste. We eat out a lot and in many different countries which we told him……..his reaction was to look at my figure (which is not slim) and sarcastically stating that this was very clear to him. What an absolute arrogant idiot insults his clients when his food is not up to scratch? Even if the food was ok and fresh, which it was not, but then not to every persons taste, you still don’t insult your clients! We have been in the hospitality industry for more than 15 years and have never come across anything as bad as this. Our advice is to avoid this establishment at all costs as they are an insult to the name Bistro and do a discredit to the rest of this lovely town with its friendly people.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank boesmanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

My first instinct, in keeping with this industry's cruel routine, was to apologise and move on, but this review is blatantly dishonest, an outrage and insult to other diners' and restaurateurs' intelligence. Regrettably, the worst guests in 10 years too. The operative word here is "insult" because it is clear that it is the only tool this lady is able to apply when communicating her feigned unhappiness. Opening insult: "EVERYTHING is disgusting!". Sorry, what? EVERYTHING? So all our other guests who have enjoyed the exact same food are all morons? Follow-up insult: "this is a rip-off!". Newsflash: bullying a waiter is not a skill. Eating most of the meal, even expressing complete satisfaction to the waiter half-way through but then exploding (and I mean "exploding") to the chef when the bill was presented is simply astounding and suspiciously points to that other malady in this industry: the freebie-seeking complainer. It's amazing how thin-skinned bullies become when their insulting and boorish behavior is challenged. I will not apologize for any of the dishes presented to this guest, as they were of the same high standard that we consistently try to serve. Coincidentally, we have also been in the hospitality industry for more than 15 years. Would we still be going strong if we served "the worst meal in 10 years"? Our advice is to avoid these guests at all costs as they are an insult to the word "guest". Can someone PLEASE design an app that allows restaurateurs the opportunity to review guests? We love cooking and we love serving our efforts to our guests. Yes, we sometimes get it wrong, but jeeez!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Horrible service from a very inept waiter. When the food still had not arrived after an hour, went to inquire and they had not even started it yet.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Harsh! Unreserved apologies, but a little perspective: we are acutely aware of the standard of service expected of us, but it has proved to be one of the biggest challenges of running this type of business in a rural area: finding trainable staff. I agree that the waiter that served you is not fully proficient but I can assure you it's not due to a lack of trying. When my patience wears thin during training sessions, I have to keep reminding myself that most of these trainees have never eaten in a sit-down-and-be-served restaurant and are completely oblivious to the type of experience that you or I expect as standard. Nevertheless, it does not negate the fact that you had a bad experience and for that, we can only offer our sincere apologies and assure you that we are constantly redoubling our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

The fish was perfectly cooked and the eisbein excellent (but involved quite a wait). We had some special dietary requirements and all were catered for with no fuss. What really made the experience was the staff - they were professional, friendly, gracious and helpful.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank alisonsA8004PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Apologies for the wait and thank you for the kind words; the staff are beaming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We had one of this restaurants top dishes ....the pork belly and was absolutely terrible disappointed. The piece of meat that we got was definitely not pork belly but some other dry tastless piece of pork . Will not recommend or return again .

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank NatashaD968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Waited a long time for below average food which was mixed up with the table next to us’s order. Tappas not tasty, eisbein was actually pork belly and tasteless and way overpriced for the portion size and quality. Wont be back.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank LindyD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kasteelberg Bistro also viewed

Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 

Been to Kasteelberg Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing