We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service!!!”
Review of Kasteelberg Bistro

Kasteelberg Bistro
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Horrible service from a very inept waiter. When the food still had not arrived after an hour, went to inquire and they had not even started it yet.

Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Harsh! Unreserved apologies, but a little perspective: we are acutely aware of the standard of service expected of us, but it has proved to be one of the biggest challenges of running this type of business in a rural area: finding trainable staff. I agree that the waiter that served you is not fully proficient but I can assure you it's not due to a lack of trying. When my patience wears thin during training sessions, I have to keep reminding myself that most of these trainees have never eaten in a sit-down-and-be-served restaurant and are completely oblivious to the type of experience that you or I expect as standard. Nevertheless, it does not negate the fact that you had a bad experience and for that, we can only offer our sincere apologies and assure you that we are constantly redoubling our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018

The fish was perfectly cooked and the eisbein excellent (but involved quite a wait). We had some special dietary requirements and all were catered for with no fuss. What really made the experience was the staff - they were professional, friendly, gracious and helpful.

Thank alisonsA8004PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Apologies for the wait and thank you for the kind words; the staff are beaming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We had one of this restaurants top dishes ....the pork belly and was absolutely terrible disappointed. The piece of meat that we got was definitely not pork belly but some other dry tastless piece of pork . Will not recommend or return again .

Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Waited a long time for below average food which was mixed up with the table next to us’s order. Tappas not tasty, eisbein was actually pork belly and tasteless and way overpriced for the portion size and quality. Wont be back.

Thank LindyD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The setting was nice, but that was the only good thing about Kasteelberg Bistro. The food is expensive for the portion size we were served, and the taste bland.The waiter was friendly until we asked her how she calculated the corkage fee for more bottles than we had opened. It was a family dinner and my nephew (17) brought a couple bottles of his own brewed beer for us to taste. Little did we know that we would be charged R45 corkage for each bottle. The gratuity calculation included the over-charged corkage fees, even though the waiter did not even open the bottle, nor serve the wine. The waiters in general were not properly presentable and made the table feel uncomfortable. Not likely to return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear “Sophia”, you are being blatantly dishonest. Bland food? Somebody is lying. Your husband and a number of people who came into the bar during the evening told us how fantastic the food was. You refer to portion size, yet the youngsters bragged in the bar afterwards how they all managed to finish their 1,2kg eisbeins! In my humble opinion, if you find R145 for a huge meal like that expensive, you probably don’t eat out very often.

Your whole issue was not the food nor the service. It was all about the corkage. And again: somebody is lying. Here’s the real story. One of the group visited us earlier in the day to make the reservation for 15 people. We were specifically asked about our corkage fee and the person was told that it is R45 PER BOTTLE. You arrived with a big cooler box, yet nobody mentioned that you were bringing your own beer as well. Frankly, Sophia, I am not surprised that the table “felt uncomfortable”, when the waitress discovered 4 empty beer bottles under the table. Who likes to be caught out?

You were charged corkage on every bottle of opened wine (we kept the empties; there were 8), and R45 for FOUR bottles of beer, not R45 PER bottle of beer. We are a fully licensed restaurant with a comprehensive wine list. If you choose to bring inexpensive wines to a licensed restaurant, you are very welcome, but if you want to use our glasses, our ice and have us pour the wine for you, I’m sorry, we charge a fee for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kasteelberg Bistro also viewed

Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 

Been to Kasteelberg Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing