We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average restaurant experience.”
Review of Kasteelberg Bistro

Kasteelberg Bistro
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Waited a long time for below average food which was mixed up with the table next to us’s order. Tappas not tasty, eisbein was actually pork belly and tasteless and way overpriced for the portion size and quality. Wont be back.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank LindyD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

The setting was nice, but that was the only good thing about Kasteelberg Bistro. The food is expensive for the portion size we were served, and the taste bland.The waiter was friendly until we asked her how she calculated the corkage fee for more bottles than we had opened. It was a family dinner and my nephew (17) brought a couple bottles of his own brewed beer for us to taste. Little did we know that we would be charged R45 corkage for each bottle. The gratuity calculation included the over-charged corkage fees, even though the waiter did not even open the bottle, nor serve the wine. The waiters in general were not properly presentable and made the table feel uncomfortable. Not likely to return!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear “Sophia”, you are being blatantly dishonest. Bland food? Somebody is lying. Your husband and a number of people who came into the bar during the evening told us how fantastic the food was. You refer to portion size, yet the youngsters bragged in the bar afterwards how they all managed to finish their 1,2kg eisbeins! In my humble opinion, if you find R145 for a huge meal like that expensive, you probably don’t eat out very often.

Your whole issue was not the food nor the service. It was all about the corkage. And again: somebody is lying. Here’s the real story. One of the group visited us earlier in the day to make the reservation for 15 people. We were specifically asked about our corkage fee and the person was told that it is R45 PER BOTTLE. You arrived with a big cooler box, yet nobody mentioned that you were bringing your own beer as well. Frankly, Sophia, I am not surprised that the table “felt uncomfortable”, when the waitress discovered 4 empty beer bottles under the table. Who likes to be caught out?

You were charged corkage on every bottle of opened wine (we kept the empties; there were 8), and R45 for FOUR bottles of beer, not R45 PER bottle of beer. We are a fully licensed restaurant with a comprehensive wine list. If you choose to bring inexpensive wines to a licensed restaurant, you are very welcome, but if you want to use our glasses, our ice and have us pour the wine for you, I’m sorry, we charge a fee for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We recently dined at Kasteelberg, a well established venue in Riebeek Kasteel. It has a long established reputation and the bistro which now includes a variety of tapas sounding very appealing. Sadly several dishes were not available on the night we were there, and somehow, this venue just seems to have lost some of the magic it obviously had in days gone by. We had dined there before, but sadly won't be going back in a hurry, which is a pity as it retains the potential of being a charming.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Cant say to much. Slow service, Should be a tapas-place. Dont manage that cusine. 45 min waiting fore a tapas!!!. Hot tapas served icecold.
Get more staff!!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Firm favorite when we visit Riebeek Kasteel - lunch or dinner. Love the music, food, friendly staff. Their Pork Belly a definite favorite. Well priced food and wine, coupled with good, friendly service. We do not miss a visit to this restaurant. Lunch time you have a nice view over the town square to watch the world go by. On cold days, there are nice fires to keep you warm.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kasteelberg Bistro also viewed

Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 

Been to Kasteelberg Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing