We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
@CorinneRas
Cape Town, South Africa

Little gem in the heart of Riebeek Kasteel

Review of The Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2024
Lisa and her staff were amazing and attentive. The hotel took us back to a nostalgic era with its amazing old world charm. The room was cosy and furnished to a top standard. The food was great and the fireplace was exactly what was needed. Well done!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from The Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Room 2 Bridal Suite
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from The Royal Hotel
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from The Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Back Kitchen
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from The Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 km from The Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from The Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private splash pool for those hot summer days
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 km from The Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from The Royal Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
moon rising over the mountains
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from The Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from The Royal Hotel
View more hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
213
125
35
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
213
125
35
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin and tonic g t's well worth a visit stoep veranda garden fireplace fans
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2024

A super hotel. Historical. Very comfortable. Nicely situated. Radical around town Lovely small town worth a visit great for a stop over or a few days for a peaceful break good old fashioned hospitality. Lovely Countryside make this your base and travel around area

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Our first stay at this lovely old hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are so warm and welcoming. The garden room was gorgeous with beautiful views.
We had all our meals at the hotel during our 3 nights stay and the food was super…they obviously have a very good chef.
Sitting on the veranda in the evenings was magical watching the sunset.
We shall certainly return next year.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

The hotel is a beautiful, colonial style building and the location in the centre of town is great.

The terrace area at the front of the hotel is a lovely spot for food and drinks, and was the highlight of the stay for us. We ate at the restaurant twice for dinner, and it was great both times. Prices are reasonable for both food and drink. The gin selection is huge, but there's no menu so you have to ask about each gin individually (which is a pain for both the customer and staff).

Our room was in the main building and was clean and comfortable enough, but the four poster bed in our room was very hard and made for a pretty uncomfortable nights sleep. Whilst I liked the traditional decor of the room, it was very dark. The shutter doors could be opened for some light, but as the view was onto a wall, it still felt dark. I would stay in a larger room with pond views if I came back.

The a la carte breakfast was tasty, and there were plenty of options (the eggs benedict were delicious).

The pool deck area was small but perfectly adequate for a dip. Towels are provided, and there are a few comfy sun loungers.

The electricity supply was intermittent and cut out frequently (albeit only for a few minutes at a time, but it was inconvenient nonetheless). There was no loadshedding in the area, so I assume the issue is hotel specific. This made the wifi slightly unreliable.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank k_a_t_e_010203
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023

Cannot believe that this hotel is a 5 star hotel. Their service is shocking. No drinks menu for the bar - you are expected to stand at the bar and look at hundreds of gin bottles and choose one. Staff are friendly bit useless. On the Patio I had to look for a waiter to serve us and then never saw them again once drink was delivered never saw any staff again. We had to get up and go and find staff to pay our bill. Seriously 5 star rating needs to include quality of service.

Room tip: Improve Service according to 5 star rating
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023

A great place for a gin and tonic, very large selection of imported and local south african gins. Presented as a work of art with complementing fruit garnish. Sit on the stoop and watch the sun go down.

Room tip: Come early to get a seat on the stoop, especially at the weekends, as the hotel is now also serving food on the stoop.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews