We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
StayForLong
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
208
115
34
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
208
115
34
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room gin tonic old colonial cape town south africa colonial hotel charlotte rhys breakfast menu overnight stay lovely place stoep swartland hairdryer petra sundowners valley waiter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2021

We were told that we can't leave Riebeek Kasteel without a gin & tonic on the stoep. What a nice idea. We popped in after our visit to the Riebeek Kasteel Garden Centre (now isn't that a lovely place). The stoep reminded me of my visits to the Norfolk Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya. Such blissful memories. The whole place has such a similar look - of old colonial days, gleaming polished floors, brass handles, palm trees and beautiful old cane furniture. It was a very nice gin & tonic indeed.

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank SandyG15love
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2021

We stayed on a walk in rate at 50% discount in a King Suite for 2 nights - This colonial hotel has superb views of the surrounding mountains - The 4 King Suite are the latest add-on to the hotel and are ultra modern - Petra, the Duty Manager is a very friendly and knowledgeable person who goes out of her way to attend to the individual needs of all her guests - Georgia, a waiter in the restaurant also made our stay extremely pleasant - Although a small hotel, it does offer enough to warrant a overnight stay in this exquisite town that is home to 2 former Presidents of South Africa - Highly recommendable.

Room tip: The King Suites are more expensive, however extremely private
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Denver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2021

The location is excellent, it is clean, the staff are very friendly, helpful and the Stoep, the bar/eating area is just lovely with the log fire. The most outstanding part was the service ! Plenty of places to sit, relax, read or even take a quick walk around the town.

Room tip: The garden rooms are private, quiet and close to the main building
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Manya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 April 2021 via mobile

This beautiful piece of History is a must visit! The Royal Hotel is kept in peak condition with alot of information about some of the most important leaders in South African History. Of your in town make sure to stop here and have a drink or 2.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ericvzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

My husband and I spent one disappointing night at Royal Hotel. We were accommodated in a garden room that was worth a 3 star grading, very small room with a dismal view, no mirror in bedroom, had to ask for hairdryer which was supposed to be in room. No coffee in tea/coffee provided. The ensuite bathroom was really nice with both a bath and shower and Charlotte Rhys soaps etc. Breakfast was satisfactory but we won't stay there again rather go to one of the charming B&B's

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leontine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews