We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$120
View deal
Travelocity
Expedia.com
US$120
View deal
Hotels.comUS$120
Orbitz.comUS$120
CheapTicketsUS$120
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
205
114
34
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
114
34
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room cape town happy hour g ts charlotte rhys colonial style old school overnight stay gin veranda wines hairdryer valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

My husband and I spent one disappointing night at Royal Hotel. We were accommodated in a garden room that was worth a 3 star grading, very small room with a dismal view, no mirror in bedroom, had to ask for hairdryer which was supposed to be in room. No coffee in tea/coffee provided. The ensuite bathroom was really nice with both a bath and shower and Charlotte Rhys soaps etc. Breakfast was satisfactory but we won't stay there again rather go to one of the charming B&B's

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leontine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Good food. Lovely town with lots of beautiful old buildings and small shops. Very charming hotel with beautiful old bar. Great sleepover between northern cape and Cape Town.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jacovdhupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2020

The colonial style makes this hotel stand out. We stayed here over Christmas Eve, when everything was closed, but had a good time regardless thanks to the hotel’s ability to Accommodate for food requests. Lovely staff and service.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nsud22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020 via mobile

The hotel has a wonderful colonial feel. We stayed in a king suite. These are newish.

The suites have their own patio plus sitting room and a fire.

The good points include a wonderful veranda where breakfast was served. The breakfasts are wonderful, fresh and delicious. The produce is of a good quality.

The hotel bar is great with huge choice of gin and other spirits. Great for a night cap.

We did not get to use the pool. But the beds look comfortable and there were umbrellas for shade.

The only constructive criticism I would offer - the carpets in the King Suite we stayed in - No1 - do need a clean and refresh.

Would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TraceyS560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020

First concern was that there was no secure parking - there is a car park but no security. My room was dark, dated and the room door not closing fully - it was located far from reception and down some very steep steps - not easy with a suitcase. Staff were kind and considerate but sadly the drinkers on the veranda or perhaps it was the guests in a room nearby were not - easy to hear fully conversations. Sadly I will not be staying again.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews