We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
204
114
33
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
204
114
33
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room beautiful hotel happy hour g ts colonial style old school friendly service gin veranda fires wines valley establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2020

The colonial style makes this hotel stand out. We stayed here over Christmas Eve, when everything was closed, but had a good time regardless thanks to the hotel’s ability to Accommodate for food requests. Lovely staff and service.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nsud22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020 via mobile

The hotel has a wonderful colonial feel. We stayed in a king suite. These are newish.

The suites have their own patio plus sitting room and a fire.

The good points include a wonderful veranda where breakfast was served. The breakfasts are wonderful, fresh and delicious. The produce is of a good quality.

The hotel bar is great with huge choice of gin and other spirits. Great for a night cap.

We did not get to use the pool. But the beds look comfortable and there were umbrellas for shade.

The only constructive criticism I would offer - the carpets in the King Suite we stayed in - No1 - do need a clean and refresh.

Would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TraceyS560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020

First concern was that there was no secure parking - there is a car park but no security. My room was dark, dated and the room door not closing fully - it was located far from reception and down some very steep steps - not easy with a suitcase. Staff were kind and considerate but sadly the drinkers on the veranda or perhaps it was the guests in a room nearby were not - easy to hear fully conversations. Sadly I will not be staying again.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020

It is eight years since we were last at The Royal and our stay this time was four nights in the same garden room as we were last in!

Little has changed although they have now built some modern suites in the garden which we did not get the chance to inspect.

Maybe it is a little jaded now with "faded grandeur" but it is still a charming colonial style hotel with friendly staff. The rooms could do with a freshen up probably in lighter colours which would make them brighter.

The continued "load shedding" (power cuts to you and me) meant the air conditioning was off for long periods of time which was not ideal but as the hotel does not have a back up generator the staff cannot do anything about it. This did cause some problems at breakfast time as the breakfast was from a menu and it was often not possible to make coffee. perhaps a cold buffet would have been better.

We dined one evening in the restaurant when the power was fortunately on and the food was simple but nice.

Plenty of parking is available and the hotel is right opposite the centre of the very small and charming village.

Room tip: Garden rooms have a nice outlook with outside verandas
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

We had a great time at the Royal Hotel in Riebeeck Kasteel. Good food and an amazing variety of Gin to choose from. Great wines also. The service was good and the atmosphere relaxed chic good choice if you are in the area.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank trudie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews