We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast(Riebeek Kasteel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tin Roof(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shiraz Estate Guest House(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shades of Provence(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Oak Manor(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olyfenhuis Guest House(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blaauw Cottage(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bloemendal Guest Cottage(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
184
99
29
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
99
29
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmhalf pricegin and tonicbeautiful hotelroom servicecape towncourse dinneroldest hotelsouth africaunderfloor heatinghotel restaurantcouple of yearsquaint townwine listhappy hourmain buildingget away
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Although I have heard a lot about this hotel, we stopped over for lunch. Food was ok but not the best. The hotel rates are very high per night at R2500 for two adults and a child is pushing it a bit. One has nothing to do all day. But the hotel itself is a real gem

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Beautiful old hotel that appears to have had a recent revamp. The front verandah is reminiscent of times gone by, seated in comfy colonial splendour. Their staff are what all establishments aspire to employ, people that really take pride in their jobs and go above and beyond. Lovely situation, beautiful accommodation and fabulous food. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly-bean0779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed with this little country hotel. On arrival we were told that we were welcome to carrot cake and tea on the stoep (terrace) at no charge and at 4.30 there was a 2 for 1 special on gins and tonic - all excellent
Our room was across the gardens and very clean and comfortable
We had dinner at the hotel that night and it was OK - nothing wrong with it but not memorable
What was memorable though out our stay was the high level of service received from all staff - we were made to feel very very welcome
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was fresh and wholesome
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

very nice hotel located in a quaint village staff very good breakfast was excellent the hotel
has recently been updating and has built new accommodation in the gardens with super
views sundowners at 5-6pm a must gin and tonics in huge bowls you can get the walk in rate which is half price after 15.00 pm for the rooms if available,
Christine-john England u/k

Room Tip: a must visit so serene
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J. F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We were 3 friends who booked for an afternoon tea at the Royal Hotel on Saturday, 1 April 2017. What an amazing afternoon did we have!! Friendly service and true value for money. When the tray of eats was brought out we were speechless ....enough for 6 people!! And everything was super delicious! Indeed an outing I can recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews