We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Although I have heard a lot about this hotel, we stopped over for lunch. Food was ok but not the best. The hotel rates are very high per night at R2500 for two adults and a child is pushing it a bit. One has nothing to do all day. But the hotel itself is a real gem

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Beautiful old hotel that appears to have had a recent revamp. The front verandah is reminiscent of times gone by, seated in comfy colonial splendour. Their staff are what all establishments aspire to employ, people that really take pride in their jobs and go above and beyond. Lovely situation, beautiful accommodation and fabulous food. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly-bean0779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed with this little country hotel. On arrival we were told that we were welcome to carrot cake and tea on the stoep (terrace) at no charge and at 4.30 there was a 2 for 1 special on gins and tonic - all excellent
Our room was across the gardens and very clean and comfortable
We had dinner at the hotel that night and it was OK - nothing wrong with it but not memorable
What was memorable though out our stay was the high level of service received from all staff - we were made to feel very very welcome
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was fresh and wholesome
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

very nice hotel located in a quaint village staff very good breakfast was excellent the hotel
has recently been updating and has built new accommodation in the gardens with super
views sundowners at 5-6pm a must gin and tonics in huge bowls you can get the walk in rate which is half price after 15.00 pm for the rooms if available,
Christine-john England u/k

Room Tip: a must visit so serene
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J. F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We were 3 friends who booked for an afternoon tea at the Royal Hotel on Saturday, 1 April 2017. What an amazing afternoon did we have!! Friendly service and true value for money. When the tray of eats was brought out we were speechless ....enough for 6 people!! And everything was super delicious! Indeed an outing I can recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4,9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
359 reviews
39,1 km away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
0,5 km away
Vineyard Views Country House
Vineyard Views Country House
#2 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
93 reviews
74,1 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
32 reviews
0,4 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#3 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range: R1 762 - R2 229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Safarinow so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing