We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate(Paarl)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
184
99
29
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
99
29
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmhalf pricegin and tonicbeautiful hotelroom servicecape towncourse dinneroldest hotelsouth africaunderfloor heatinghotel restaurantcouple of yearsquaint townwine listhappy hourmain buildingget away
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed with this little country hotel. On arrival we were told that we were welcome to carrot cake and tea on the stoep (terrace) at no charge and at 4.30 there was a 2 for 1 special on gins and tonic - all excellent
Our room was across the gardens and very clean and comfortable
We had dinner at the hotel that night and it was OK - nothing wrong with it but not memorable
What was memorable though out our stay was the high level of service received from all staff - we were made to feel very very welcome
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was fresh and wholesome
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

very nice hotel located in a quaint village staff very good breakfast was excellent the hotel
has recently been updating and has built new accommodation in the gardens with super
views sundowners at 5-6pm a must gin and tonics in huge bowls you can get the walk in rate which is half price after 15.00 pm for the rooms if available,
Christine-john England u/k

Room Tip: a must visit so serene
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J. F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We were 3 friends who booked for an afternoon tea at the Royal Hotel on Saturday, 1 April 2017. What an amazing afternoon did we have!! Friendly service and true value for money. When the tray of eats was brought out we were speechless ....enough for 6 people!! And everything was super delicious! Indeed an outing I can recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Long verandah; wicker chairs - nostalgia! Comfortable, updated rooms. Old-fashioned courteous service; helpful staff - necessary as there are few concessions for the disabled (a not uncommon situation in South Africa). Riebeek Castille itself is in a bit of a time warp - delightful. The hotel restaurant, especially for dinner, is well worth a visit. The food was splendid.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We spent two nights in this beautiful hotel. Our room was sublime, offering a gorgeous lounge area, king size bed with crisp white linen and a gorgeous bathroom. Little touches like bath salts lovingly placed into a wooden bowl each day and home made choccies in lovely box coupled with a turndown service in the evening made our stay extra special. Could with super-friendly service, absolutely delicious breakfasts and a gin and tonic served in a brandy snifter and served on the long verandah served (a tradition at the Royal), we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swanepoel, Jenn... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews