We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
184
99
29
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
99
29
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmhalf pricegin and tonicbeautiful hotelroom servicecape towncourse dinneroldest hotelsouth africaunderfloor heatinghotel restaurantcouple of yearsquaint townwine listhappy hourmain buildingget away
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

very nice hotel located in a quaint village staff very good breakfast was excellent the hotel
has recently been updating and has built new accommodation in the gardens with super
views sundowners at 5-6pm a must gin and tonics in huge bowls you can get the walk in rate which is half price after 15.00 pm for the rooms if available,
Christine-john England u/k

Room Tip: a must visit so serene
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J. F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We were 3 friends who booked for an afternoon tea at the Royal Hotel on Saturday, 1 April 2017. What an amazing afternoon did we have!! Friendly service and true value for money. When the tray of eats was brought out we were speechless ....enough for 6 people!! And everything was super delicious! Indeed an outing I can recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Long verandah; wicker chairs - nostalgia! Comfortable, updated rooms. Old-fashioned courteous service; helpful staff - necessary as there are few concessions for the disabled (a not uncommon situation in South Africa). Riebeek Castille itself is in a bit of a time warp - delightful. The hotel restaurant, especially for dinner, is well worth a visit. The food was splendid.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We spent two nights in this beautiful hotel. Our room was sublime, offering a gorgeous lounge area, king size bed with crisp white linen and a gorgeous bathroom. Little touches like bath salts lovingly placed into a wooden bowl each day and home made choccies in lovely box coupled with a turndown service in the evening made our stay extra special. Could with super-friendly service, absolutely delicious breakfasts and a gin and tonic served in a brandy snifter and served on the long verandah served (a tradition at the Royal), we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swanepoel, Jenn... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were treated like royalty.
The staff and rooms were fantastic. The rooms were well furnished with comfortable beds, snow white linen and fully air coned.
The bathrooms were well fitted out including a large shower.
Sun downers on the old fashioned stoop was so relaxing sitting on comfortable couches watching the world go by.
Unfortunatly we never had dinner at the hotel, but breakfast which is included in the rate was outstanding.
I loved my stay at the Grand hotel and will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyangelcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews