We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch Of Class”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were treated like royalty.
The staff and rooms were fantastic. The rooms were well furnished with comfortable beds, snow white linen and fully air coned.
The bathrooms were well fitted out including a large shower.
Sun downers on the old fashioned stoop was so relaxing sitting on comfortable couches watching the world go by.
Unfortunatly we never had dinner at the hotel, but breakfast which is included in the rate was outstanding.
I loved my stay at the Grand hotel and will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyangelcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Went here for a late lunch on a very hot Sunday afternoon. We sat outside in the patio under a Bedouin or what you call those tight tents, covering the whole area. The hotel is very old but in good condition and I think they were adding more rooms and redoing the back yard because there was construction going on. Service was very good as was the food. Their wine list is vast, which one would suspect in this vineyard rich area. We opted for the burgers, vegetarian salads and I had a ceasar salad with added grilled chicken. The food took a while to arrive, but we had a great time so no worries about that, and when it came, it was very good. The bill came down to ZAR850 for 6 people, including drinks and coffee and 10% tip. This place must look amazing at night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArdHeinkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The oldest hotel in South Africa has great bar with extensive selection of Gins and absolutely the right atmosphere for gin & tonic tasting. Do not mist it if you are nearby! The town has breathtaking history, colorful presence and bright future.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PoohPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Having arrived on a late Sunday afternoon, we were little surprised to be recommended to an alternative restaurant for dinner, on the basis that we were the only potential diners in the hotel that night. Our misgivings were quickly and consistently removed by a very good bed in a comfy room and a world class eggs Benedict breakfast. The staff were without exception, friendly and efficient. Dinner was as good if not better than breakfast, reviewed separately. Another astonishingly great breakfast of French toast with crispy bacon and emmenthal cheese on the following day, rounded off a superb stay.
The gin and tonic cocktail hour between 5 and 6 pm is an innovative and fun way to fuel up for dinner.
We will return. We loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

I visited this hotel with friends. I had a single room which was very spacious with a king sized bed. The bed linen was good quality with many soft pillows. Air conditioner worked well and was quiet and efficient. Great bathroom and walk-in shower. Food is excellent and the breakfast, included in our room rates, was magnificent. It was served on the stoep so we could watch the village wake up as we enjoyed the leisurely feast. We didn't need lunch!
The hotel is pretty and old colonial in ambience. The legendary G&Ts served at half price between 5 and 6 add to the atmosphere. The local gin, infused with botanicals and made in A Still Bay distillery is well worth trying.
Staff are friendly and helpful though one or two are new and need a bit more training.
My only complaint is the unnecessary and too loud piped music. Who needs to listen to Piaf and Sinatra on the longest stoep south of the Limpopo?


Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4,9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
359 reviews
39,1 km away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
0,5 km away
Vineyard Views Country House
Vineyard Views Country House
#2 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
93 reviews
74,1 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
32 reviews
0,4 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#3 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range: R1 762 - R2 229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Safarinow so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing