We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast(Riebeek Kasteel)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shiraz Estate Guest House(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tin Roof(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shades of Provence(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olyfenhuis Guest House(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blaauw Cottage(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bloemendal Guest Cottage(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Oak Manor(Riebeek Kasteel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
186
100
29
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
100
29
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmhalf pricegin and tonicbeautiful hotelroom servicecape towncourse dinneroldest hotelsouth africahotel restaurantcouple of yearsquaint townwine listhappy hourunderfloor heatingget awayfriendly service
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Went here for a late lunch on a very hot Sunday afternoon. We sat outside in the patio under a Bedouin or what you call those tight tents, covering the whole area. The hotel is very old but in good condition and I think they were adding more rooms and redoing the back yard because there was construction going on. Service was very good as was the food. Their wine list is vast, which one would suspect in this vineyard rich area. We opted for the burgers, vegetarian salads and I had a ceasar salad with added grilled chicken. The food took a while to arrive, but we had a great time so no worries about that, and when it came, it was very good. The bill came down to ZAR850 for 6 people, including drinks and coffee and 10% tip. This place must look amazing at night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArdHeinkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The oldest hotel in South Africa has great bar with extensive selection of Gins and absolutely the right atmosphere for gin & tonic tasting. Do not mist it if you are nearby! The town has breathtaking history, colorful presence and bright future.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PoohPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Having arrived on a late Sunday afternoon, we were little surprised to be recommended to an alternative restaurant for dinner, on the basis that we were the only potential diners in the hotel that night. Our misgivings were quickly and consistently removed by a very good bed in a comfy room and a world class eggs Benedict breakfast. The staff were without exception, friendly and efficient. Dinner was as good if not better than breakfast, reviewed separately. Another astonishingly great breakfast of French toast with crispy bacon and emmenthal cheese on the following day, rounded off a superb stay.
The gin and tonic cocktail hour between 5 and 6 pm is an innovative and fun way to fuel up for dinner.
We will return. We loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

I visited this hotel with friends. I had a single room which was very spacious with a king sized bed. The bed linen was good quality with many soft pillows. Air conditioner worked well and was quiet and efficient. Great bathroom and walk-in shower. Food is excellent and the breakfast, included in our room rates, was magnificent. It was served on the stoep so we could watch the village wake up as we enjoyed the leisurely feast. We didn't need lunch!
The hotel is pretty and old colonial in ambience. The legendary G&Ts served at half price between 5 and 6 add to the atmosphere. The local gin, infused with botanicals and made in A Still Bay distillery is well worth trying.
Staff are friendly and helpful though one or two are new and need a bit more training.
My only complaint is the unnecessary and too loud piped music. Who needs to listen to Piaf and Sinatra on the longest stoep south of the Limpopo?


Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

What a gem of a place! Colonial spleandour where you can have the best gin and tonic sitting on their long stoep, or in the lovely old style bar.
Wonderful staff, very well run and very friendly!
We'll definately be back.
Room 1 was lovely with the largest king size bed ever!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews