We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
181
98
28
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
98
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmhalf pricegin and tonicbeautiful hotelroom servicecape towncourse dinneroldest hotelsouth africaunderfloor heatinghotel restaurantcouple of yearsquaint townwine listhappy hourmain buildingget away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Just an hour out of the city and a scenic drive. Comfy,spacious rooms with a cute little patio and beautiful view. Friendly staff. Had a delicious breakfast there and the hotel is just across the road from a few eateries. Definitely going again

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gvt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We started off with a Cola Tonic and lemonade which was served in a Brandy glass filled with fruit in the ice cubes. The Waiter was friendly and the service excellent. We later enjoyed afternoon tea on the veranda, served by well trained, attentive Waiters. The afternoon tea was served attractively and when I made the booking, I told them it was a friend's Birthday and the chef sent her a beautifully decorated delight with two Birthday candles on. I must stress that the staff are well trained. A delightful hotel and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerolene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

5pm on the dot every day of the year. Gin and tonic on the stoep at half price. One hour of a wonderful little way to enjoy a drink in colonial surroundings. Girl by the name of Pretty? or Pritti? served me with these giant brandy glasses containing my choice of gin and there are countless brands to choose from, and tonic with a sprinkling of strawberry and blueberry. I can honestly say I've never enjoyed a drink as much - ever!
6pm on the dot every day of the year and it's all over but what an hour of delight.
If you you are ever near Riebeek Kasteel be there at 5pm.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This hotel is definitely the hub of the town and one cannot drive through Riebeek Kasteel without a visit to the Royal Hotel and if possible make sure you arrive there at 5 o'clock to enjoy a variety of G&T on the stoep. But once there, you wouldn't want to leave so make sure to book a room in advance. The food served from very interesting menu's for dinner and breakfast were of high standard and very tasty. The staff and service is outstanding. There was absolutely nothing that I could fault at this hotel and I hope to be back soon, but this time for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 55andmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The Gin and Tonic drinks on the stoep of the hotel were well presented in a brandy glass with little pieces of fruit and ice. It was complimented by home-made thin potato slices, fresh from the oven. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we were looked after with country like hospitality. Compliments to the chef for preparing a delicious Sunday lunch . The Kingklip was juicy served with crispy fried potato wedges and tartare sauce. The lamb belly was out of this world. The waiters were outstanding with their quick tailor made service. The Royal Hotel will definitely see us again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Liebie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews