We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toplocation!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Toplocation!”
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Beautiful colonial hotel in sweetest village ever, rooms are the best in every way, staff has arranged ironing stuff, swimming pool is definitely a plus and we have enjoyed every moment in this wonderful place...

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    90
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
149
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Just an hour out of the city and a scenic drive. Comfy,spacious rooms with a cute little patio and beautiful view. Friendly staff. Had a delicious breakfast there and the hotel is just across the road from a few eateries. Definitely going again

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gvt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We started off with a Cola Tonic and lemonade which was served in a Brandy glass filled with fruit in the ice cubes. The Waiter was friendly and the service excellent. We later enjoyed afternoon tea on the veranda, served by well trained, attentive Waiters. The afternoon tea was served attractively and when I made the booking, I told them it was a friend's Birthday and the chef sent her a beautifully decorated delight with two Birthday candles on. I must stress that the staff are well trained. A delightful hotel and worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerolene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosslare Harbour, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

5pm on the dot every day of the year. Gin and tonic on the stoep at half price. One hour of a wonderful little way to enjoy a drink in colonial surroundings. Girl by the name of Pretty? or Pritti? served me with these giant brandy glasses containing my choice of gin and there are countless brands to choose from, and tonic with a sprinkling of strawberry and blueberry. I can honestly say I've never enjoyed a drink as much - ever!
6pm on the dot every day of the year and it's all over but what an hour of delight.
If you you are ever near Riebeek Kasteel be there at 5pm.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This hotel is definitely the hub of the town and one cannot drive through Riebeek Kasteel without a visit to the Royal Hotel and if possible make sure you arrive there at 5 o'clock to enjoy a variety of G&T on the stoep. But once there, you wouldn't want to leave so make sure to book a room in advance. The food served from very interesting menu's for dinner and breakfast were of high standard and very tasty. The staff and service is outstanding. There was absolutely nothing that I could fault at this hotel and I hope to be back soon, but this time for a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55andmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4.9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
325 reviews
1.0 km away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
64 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
32 reviews
25.1 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
698 reviews
26.3 km away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price range (per night): R1 488 - R2 186
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Safarinow and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing