We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Red Tin Roof(Riebeek Kasteel)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast(Riebeek Kasteel)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brambleberry Farm(Riebeek Kasteel)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Die Kasteel(Riebeek Kasteel)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Old Oak Manor(Riebeek Kasteel)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shiraz Estate Guest House(Riebeek Kasteel)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$73
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
186
100
29
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
100
29
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmgin and tonichalf pricebeautiful hotelroom servicecourse dinnercape townoldest hotelsouth africahotel restaurantcouple of yearsquaint townwine listhappy hourunderfloor heatingget awaytreated like royalty
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The Gin and Tonic drinks on the stoep of the hotel were well presented in a brandy glass with little pieces of fruit and ice. It was complimented by home-made thin potato slices, fresh from the oven. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we were looked after with country like hospitality. Compliments to the chef for preparing a delicious Sunday lunch . The Kingklip was juicy served with crispy fried potato wedges and tartare sauce. The lamb belly was out of this world. The waiters were outstanding with their quick tailor made service. The Royal Hotel will definitely see us again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Liebie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The Royal Hotel occupies rather a grand old building and its raised position near the centre of the village is ideal for visitors wanting somewhere to stay. We had a quick look around inside and at the back and thought everything seemed rather dark and soulless. The shaded terrace at the front, on the other hand, is an excellent spot for lunch. The menu seemed well put together and there was a smallish wine list that listed wines by the vineyard. We were amused (not in a good way) by the plate of bite-size toasts with strawberry jam and butter that was placed on the table in lieu of bread and butter. Thankfully our main courses proved that there was someone of competence working in the kitchen. Crispy gnocchi with mushrooms, rocket and parmesan was tasty and well-executed. A kudu burger with triple-cooked chips was just as good, although the saucer-full of tomato ketchup could have served ten. Service was friendly, if a little slow.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DGEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A scorching day in late December, and a need for a beer led us to the verandah of the Royal. To the beer we added a gin and tonic, and once we'd seen the menu, lunch. I love it when old places are restored, while keeping their character, and the owners of this hotel deserve praise. The bar is a masterpiece of period decor, and the verandah is a stunning evocation of style from years gone by, with its comfortable cane furniture and overhead fans. The beer was cold, the food was good, if a little expensive and the G&T was memorable. That bar needs a full evening to do it justice and we will be back to stay. We explored the building and grounds, and it all looks very pleasant, but at this point my rating on sleep quality is a guess.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

I only went to the royal hotel for drinks with some friends but I just absolutely have to say that I had the best Gin and Tonic I've ever had.
I don't drink gin EVER but I made an exception. I don't know how they managed to make it so yummy, it's more of a cocktail than a usual drink. You must stop for a few drinks if you are in the area.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank melissawM6817BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this beautiful hotel in the middle of nowhere. It was a scorching day and we enjoyed lounging by the pool and ending the day with the famous G&T happy hour between 17:00 and 18:00. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we had a good night's rest. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Old world charm found in Riebeek-Kasteel.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK7130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews