We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back In Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back In Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

This hotel is definitely the hub of the town and one cannot drive through Riebeek Kasteel without a visit to the Royal Hotel and if possible make sure you arrive there at 5 o'clock to enjoy a variety of G&T on the stoep. But once there, you wouldn't want to leave so make sure to book a room in advance. The food served from very interesting menu's for dinner and breakfast were of high standard and very tasty. The staff and service is outstanding. There was absolutely nothing that I could fault at this hotel and I hope to be back soon, but this time for a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55andmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    87
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
137
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The Gin and Tonic drinks on the stoep of the hotel were well presented in a brandy glass with little pieces of fruit and ice. It was complimented by home-made thin potato slices, fresh from the oven. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we were looked after with country like hospitality. Compliments to the chef for preparing a delicious Sunday lunch . The Kingklip was juicy served with crispy fried potato wedges and tartare sauce. The lamb belly was out of this world. The waiters were outstanding with their quick tailor made service. The Royal Hotel will definitely see us again.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Liebie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
410 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

The Royal Hotel occupies rather a grand old building and its raised position near the centre of the village is ideal for visitors wanting somewhere to stay. We had a quick look around inside and at the back and thought everything seemed rather dark and soulless. The shaded terrace at the front, on the other hand, is an excellent spot for lunch. The menu seemed well put together and there was a smallish wine list that listed wines by the vineyard. We were amused (not in a good way) by the plate of bite-size toasts with strawberry jam and butter that was placed on the table in lieu of bread and butter. Thankfully our main courses proved that there was someone of competence working in the kitchen. Crispy gnocchi with mushrooms, rocket and parmesan was tasty and well-executed. A kudu burger with triple-cooked chips was just as good, although the saucer-full of tomato ketchup could have served ten. Service was friendly, if a little slow.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

A scorching day in late December, and a need for a beer led us to the verandah of the Royal. To the beer we added a gin and tonic, and once we'd seen the menu, lunch. I love it when old places are restored, while keeping their character, and the owners of this hotel deserve praise. The bar is a masterpiece of period decor, and the verandah is a stunning evocation of style from years gone by, with its comfortable cane furniture and overhead fans. The beer was cold, the food was good, if a little expensive and the G&T was memorable. That bar needs a full evening to do it justice and we will be back to stay. We explored the building and grounds, and it all looks very pleasant, but at this point my rating on sleep quality is a guess.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

I only went to the royal hotel for drinks with some friends but I just absolutely have to say that I had the best Gin and Tonic I've ever had.
I don't drink gin EVER but I made an exception. I don't know how they managed to make it so yummy, it's more of a cocktail than a usual drink. You must stop for a few drinks if you are in the area.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank melissawM6817BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4.9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
39.1 km away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
25.1 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price range (per night): R1 481 - R2 095
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Safarinow, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing