We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Brackenfell, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

Great weekend get away! We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. Maxwell and his colleagues were put under a bit of pressure on Sunday morning with extra guests for breakfast, but they coped extremely well!
Enjoyed calling room service for early morning coffee or tea.
I would like to suggest they rotate the mattresses, could have done with a little more comfort but otherwise the rooms are lovely and the bathrooms are really great!
The food in the restaurant was excellent and well presented.
Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very nice. Room 5 can be a bit noisy with staff being up early in the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cejames04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    84
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
133
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely warm and welcoming atmosphere . Easily the best Gin & Tonic I have ever had. Locally distilled with a fynbos flavor . Served in a huge glass with strawberries . Stunning.

The lamb shoulder was superb and something I can strongly recommend .

The staff were extremely friendly but not quite on top of the menu and what it offered.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank D6148JQstephenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel was happy to take our last minute booking without insisting on full payment as we were on our way there. Warm welcome at reception, excellent linen in the rooms with very comfortable beds, great bar in hotel. We will be back soon for a visit.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaHolt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We slept over on a Tuesday night for one night only. We had a garden room, which was very spacious, and the bathroom includes a seperate toilet. The bathroom had both a shower and a bath.
The staff were friendly and helpful and quick to respond to requests, such as ice for the room.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but did have breakfast which was great!
All in all, a fantastic hotel, especially considering the price.
Will definately visit again

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 447mariuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2016

The staff were very helpful. Chef's menu was extremely inventive and the best food in town. In winter months we would have preferred to stay in an inside room but made the wrong choice. Don't book room 3 in garden since it's really lower level with no view until you get up six steps

Room Tip: Choose an inside room to be more cosy on cold winter nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony & Cath... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4.9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.7 km away
The Victorian Cow
The Victorian Cow
#3 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.3 km away
Shades of the Valley
Shades of the Valley
#4 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price range (per night): R1 467 - R3 723
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Safarinow and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing