We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Royal Hotel in winter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Royal Hotel in winter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2016

The staff were very helpful. Chef's menu was extremely inventive and the best food in town. In winter months we would have preferred to stay in an inside room but made the wrong choice. Don't book room 3 in garden since it's really lower level with no view until you get up six steps

Room Tip: Choose an inside room to be more cosy on cold winter nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony & Cath... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    83
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
131
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We spent an excellent night in this old fashioned hotel in the middle of town. Nice staff, good breakfast and lovely room. Will visit again, maybe in summer next time. Great location if you want to take a stroll into the town or as a base for some wine tasting.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

What a gem of a place, a find among finds. While certain elements might not live up to imagined expectations, the authenticity and staff are unparalleled. The old world sensibility and above and beyond accommodation of even the smallest request makes the Royal a hotel in the truest sense of the word.

Maxwell the duty manager is phenomenal, arranging last minute details with aplomb.

The oldest hotel in the western cape may very well be the best.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2016

The Royal Hotel in Riebeek for me is a must visit when in South Africa. I like the village that is becoming more and more alive and popular. I love the friendly and welcoming ambiance of the Royal Hotel with their amazing gin & tonics (make sure that you try one...) happy hour. I love their wine menu featuring the best wines of the Swartland area, but for sure I love their food. Since I am not so much of a meet eater, I try fish where even I can. Fish and chips, it doesn't sound exiting and most of the times it isn't. But here at the Royal, I got it crispy as it should be, tasty, with divine chips. The best I ever had. I hope they will keep this on their menu for ever...

Room Tip: I like the garden rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2016

What a treat! Pristine setting with beautiful gardens, lovely rooms, awesome big front verandah for watching people go by while sipping on one of their huge selection of delicious Gin and tonics. Incredibly accommodating and friendly staff! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathLatskyBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4.9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 km away
The Victorian Cow
The Victorian Cow
#3 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#1 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.1 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
25.1 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 km away
Shades of the Valley
Shades of the Valley
#2 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price range (per night): R1 506 - R1 990
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Safarinow and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing