We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Hotel in winter”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The staff were very helpful. Chef's menu was extremely inventive and the best food in town. In winter months we would have preferred to stay in an inside room but made the wrong choice. Don't book room 3 in garden since it's really lower level with no view until you get up six steps

Room Tip: Choose an inside room to be more cosy on cold winter nights
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony & Cath... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We spent an excellent night in this old fashioned hotel in the middle of town. Nice staff, good breakfast and lovely room. Will visit again, maybe in summer next time. Great location if you want to take a stroll into the town or as a base for some wine tasting.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

What a gem of a place, a find among finds. While certain elements might not live up to imagined expectations, the authenticity and staff are unparalleled. The old world sensibility and above and beyond accommodation of even the smallest request makes the Royal a hotel in the truest sense of the word.

Maxwell the duty manager is phenomenal, arranging last minute details with aplomb.

The oldest hotel in the western cape may very well be the best.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

The Royal Hotel in Riebeek for me is a must visit when in South Africa. I like the village that is becoming more and more alive and popular. I love the friendly and welcoming ambiance of the Royal Hotel with their amazing gin & tonics (make sure that you try one...) happy hour. I love their wine menu featuring the best wines of the Swartland area, but for sure I love their food. Since I am not so much of a meet eater, I try fish where even I can. Fish and chips, it doesn't sound exiting and most of the times it isn't. But here at the Royal, I got it crispy as it should be, tasty, with divine chips. The best I ever had. I hope they will keep this on their menu for ever...

Room Tip: I like the garden rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

What a treat! Pristine setting with beautiful gardens, lovely rooms, awesome big front verandah for watching people go by while sipping on one of their huge selection of delicious Gin and tonics. Incredibly accommodating and friendly staff! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathLatskyBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4.9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
330 reviews
1.0 km away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
70 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
32 reviews
26.3 km away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#4 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
25.1 km away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range: R1 532 - R2 239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Safarinow and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing