We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous, well-appointed villa and great...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Theophile

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gigondas, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philip S
2 reviews
“The villa exceeds expectations, which, are already pretty high !”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Villa Theophille looks wonderful on the Trip Advisor photos - it is better in real life. It's difficult to gauge the ambience and the size from photos. The Villa is beautifully appointed and maintained. The pool and surrounding areas are perfect for families - our grandchildren had a ball. The kitchen and dining areas are so well equipped. We wouldn't have changed a thing - and had we wished to John & Ian would have obliged !

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: spaciousness
Liked least: dodgy wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the setting
Liked least: The trip was too short
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julia W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream wedding at Villa Théophile”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We'd been planning to look at a few different wedding venues in Provence but as soon as we'd seen Villa Théophile and met the owners Phillipa and Glen we knew we'd found the place.
Located just a 45-min drive from Avignon and set among the vineyards, it's a great spot. The nearest town Vacqueyras is an incredibly picturesque 15-20-min walk away.

Throughout the whole wedding planning process Phillipa was incredibly helpful, giving us all the information and advice we needed along the way. When we arrived, the friendly caretakers John and Ian were on hand to make sure our stay (and our big day) all went to plan and even brought us fresh vegetables from the garden. Nothing was too much trouble – they were on hand when we needed them and they tended to the immaculate pool and gardens each day.

The house itself is beautifully decorated with lovely furniture from the owners' travels. Entertaining space is in abundances with its amazing pool with huge patio and barbecue area and well-equipped kitchen and separate larder. Plus the huge dining room, ball room and sitting room on the ground floor which can be used if the weather isn't so good.

We spent an incredible week at Villa Théophile and had a wedding that was even better than we'd hoped and which was memorable for all the right reasons. It was a magical place to share with all our friends and we would highly recommend it to anyone without hesitation. We're hoping to book it for a holiday again next year!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl W
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dream Chateau in Provence ”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from Villa Théophile having spent a wonderful week with friends and family at this beautiful property. Many thanks to the very gracious owner, Phillipa, the hospitable caretakers Ian and Jon and not least the chef, Magali who provided 2 great 4-course dinners!

This is the 6th Chateau I've booked over the last 10 years and this is by far the best for many different reasons:

1. The location, in the middle of hundreds of acres of vineyards in Cotes du Rhône on a hill just outside a beautiful old village, is spectacular.

2. The property is beautiful and the attention to detail is fabulous. Everything is very well laid out - the pool is next to the Bar-B-Q which is next to the kitchen. On those beautiful summer evenings in Provence, there's nothing better than wining and dining outdoors on the terrace overlooking the beautiful countryside.

3. The bedrooms and bathrooms, just like the rest of the house, have everything you need. Although it's a very old property, all the amenities everywhere, are super modern and function extremely well.

4. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped for both indoor AND outdoor cooking. We were 12 adults, a teenager and an infant. A cot and high chair were provided for the infant. There was a pool alarm, which was great security, plenty of outdoor and indoor games, lounge chairs and couches/umbrellas for total relaxation.

I could go on but there lacked for nothing! Needless to say, the week went by exceedingly quickly!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.