We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Natures planetarium”

Review of Le Puy Farmhouse

The pool with far reaching views over the forest and hills. The pool is heated to around 25 degrees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool with far reaching views over the forest and hills. The pool is heated to around 25 degrees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The pool with far reaching views over the forest and hills. The pool is heated to around 25 degrees
Al fresco eating area leading from the kitchen. Great views!
Outside seating area just outside the front door.
Patio in front of the Lodge
The Farmhouse living room - we'll provide logs at market price for the fire
The boule terrace - we've now got table tennis and swing ball available to play
2016 was a hot hot summer! The games room is in the bottom of the barn
Games room with snooker and wi-fi
Farmhouse - kitchen
Lodge - living room
The Lodge and outside area
Lodge - kitchen
Farmhouse bedroom
Living room Farmhouse
Pool and terrace. Great place for lunch or just sunbathing
Living room in the Farmhouse
Farmhouse - bedroom
The driveway to the houses
Lodge -  bedroom
This is the view from our chateau up to Le Puy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bourganeuf, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
franklinf...
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Natures planetarium”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My first time to le puy, the setting is fabulous and feels remote although a 10 min drive takes you to a local village with a very good quality supermarche that rivals waitrose ( and kept my fussy children happy) the accomodation is bright, clean and not at all dated, an eclectic mix of furnishings and all the modern conveniences we needed, fair to say we spent most of our time outside though and with 500 acres we werent short of space ! 20 mins away is a superb lake and bigger town with excellent bars and restaurants and a market periodically too, just enough civilisation to keep us happy but still detached from the rat race.
At night is when you get the bonus, with zero light polution the stars and constellations are extremely vivid and really do steal the show.
As you can guess i'll be back and looking forward to uninterrupted sleep and winderful clean air, this place is a little gem and entertained me and my 3 children from 9 to 16 - enjoy !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannah S
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Le Puy was a really lovely place to stay, the Lodge was spacious and yet cosy with fabulous views across a valley full of deer. The deer were a big hit, because they are quite tame and the kids were able to feed them by hand!! It is on a huge wooded estate that is great fun to explore.

The house itself was clean and had a few toys for the kids, it has a big sitting room with a massive fireplace that was great for chilling out. The bedrooms were big and comfy, and the kitchen well equipped.

The pool was lovely and warm, the kids, 5, 4, and 2 loved playing in it for hours!! and it was great for an evening swim too.

The only downside for us was that the velux windows had no blinds on them, which made it hard to settle the kids to sleep on the bright evenings

All in all we had a great holiday and would recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property on the estate
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1022carol...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Wonderful, rustic, spacious property with four generous double bedrooms and two bathrooms arranged on three floors, with large kitchen/diner and lounge on the ground floor. Massive stone fireplace in the lounge. The views over the 500 acre estate are fabulous. We slept really well here in comfortable beds with crisp, white bed linen. No light pollution so star gazing was incredible on clear nights. Pool was a good size but went green after it rained though this was quickly sorted out. Games room with wifi access, pool table, table tennis, rowing machine and other gym equipment kept the kids amused. Wonderful walks around the estate which has a herd of over one hundred red deer, and some fallow. Not a lot going on locally when we were there. Property was rural and six miles away from nearest village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, wildlife and quiet.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The perfect country retreat”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We travelled with another family so 4 adults and 3 children in total and stayed in the Farmhouse for one week.
This area of the Limousan is very remote and the drive for the last 10 miles is beautiful through woodland hills and virtually no traffic, a we
Come relief after busy Black Saturday motorways.
The farmhouse has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and all the beds are very comfortable and the kitchen well equipt.
Lovely patio area with a very large table and good sized BBQ and the ever friendly Bobby the cat.
We would have liked to have seen a shower in both bath rooms.

Outside is why you go, 500 acres of woodland with deer roaming and we ever had a visit from the two pigs who had a liking for apricots!
The pool is very large and deep with a number of comfy loungers to soak up the rays and watch the deer down by the Chateau.
The barn has a good games room and outdoor table tennis, while the boys enjoyed the drum machine it may not have been to everyone's liking!
A toilet in this area would be good to avoid wet feet and dirty a feet been traipsed through the house.
While we found very little reason to leave the local village provides everything you need, within 20 minutes you can join all the tourists at the recreational lake with beaches and water sports.

Le Puy is the perfect country retreat and we just wished we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing