We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We will be back!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thirty Seven

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Living room Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Front of house
Living room
Dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 Superking or twin
En suite shower room Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 twin
Bedroom 3 twin
Bathroom
Terrace
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike W
Keswick
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“We will be back!!!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thank you for renting your home to us. Although we were doing some family business it did allow us for the first time to be able to rent a car and enjoy the country side. Your home was very comfortable and we enjoyed being able to cook a meal and not have to use restaurants every day. All and all a very enjoyable holiday and we look forward to maybe rent your home again. Our only suggestion would be to leave the book on how to use the home internet etc out so renters could find the information easily. Thank you again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location convenience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. All suggestions are welcome and we will try to make the internet arrangements clearer for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne W
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cottage very spacious and very clean. Great facilities and lovely little garden. Excellent base for mountain biking.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. Never having been on a mountain bike, we had no feel for how good the area would be for this activity but thought it would be helpful to be able to wheel your bikes through the adjacent close to store them securely in the garden at 37. Glad you had fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJeanne M
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wonderful, spacious home from home”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Dear John and Trish,
The 3 weeks that we stayed in your lovely home were great ! The wine and shortbread you left for us was a nice surpise :). Thornhill is friendly village, good butcher (worth visiting for the haggis and pies). Good bakery and the pub of the hotel was great as the food in the hotel ! The cottage was a great base for visiting Glasgow/Edinburgh and many other attractions. A visit to the castle is a must, the leadmine was great (worth visiting !). Thank you this house is certenly a home from home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay - Thornhill is a great base for a holiday, we have always thought. Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireyag...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, clean homely cottage. Would definitely recommend”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage last minute for a weeks break with my grown up children, grandaughter and a large dog. The cottage accomodated us all no problem, it was spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. The wine and shortbread left for us was a lovely touch. The cottage was a great base for visiting Dumfries and Glasgow and had plenty of other attractions around it, a visit to the castle and dino land if you have young children isa must! We only wish we had better weather to make full use of the garden which was stunning and would have been great for BBQs. Overall a lovely cottage in a lovely village. Couldnt really ask for any more! John and Trish the owners were amazing, friendly amd went out of their way to make our trip run smoothly. Thank you so much.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Great review, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8140KJD
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house with idyllic garden”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself and some friends stayed at Number 37 when we were doing the Tough Mudder. The house is lovely and the garden is a delight. We sat out in the sun, it was so peaceful and the perfect place to relax. The beds were really comforable, we all had a great nights sleep! It has 2 showers, is really clean and had all the facilities we needed. The broadband isn't great which is superb if you want to get away from it all. The owners were really friendly and helpful and good at keeping in touch. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranqility of the garden
Liked least: That the broadband wasn't fast enough to power the Sonos system
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Glad that our "Tough Mudderers" had fun and enjoyed the house! Hope you feel up to the challenge again next year - if not, why not just come and relax?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing