We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil haven in a beautiful setting.”
other travellers have booked this property
Ferndale Studio Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferndale Studio Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Ferndale Studio Cottage
Above the village - Stunning views over the Nith Valley
Local scenery - River Nith
Local scenery - The Lowther Hills
Local scenery - The Enterkin Valley
View from the Roman Fort, Durisdeer
Walks in the woods around Drumlanrig
Local scenery - The Lowther Hills
Local scenery - Morton Castle
The stunning Queensberry Marbles inside Durisdeer Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kjc1961
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A tranquil haven in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Spent a couple of nights here and wished we could stay an awful lot longer. The studio is comfortable and well equipped and the garden, complete with grass landscape sculpture, is beautiful. Anne, the owner, is an artist and the studio is decorated with her lovely landscapes and really benefits from her artistic touch. There are interesting books to read, comfortable chairs and unlimited peace and quiet with amazing birdsong. The village of Durisdeer is set amongst rolling, green countryside. It is very close to Drumlanrig Castle and is a great base from which to visit all the attractions that Dumfries and Galloway have to offer. We hope to go back again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed and peaceful atmospehere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susi63
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
“Staying at Ferndale is one of my most favourite things to do”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on a number of occasions and I always feel a sense of peace after each visit. Anne and Steve are so friendly and helpful, and the accommodation is comfortable and inviting. The area is fantastic for walking and cycling, and the scenery is stunning. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue m
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved the quiet, peaceful setting and the attention to detail in this colourful, creative accommodation.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We had a five day break in Ferndale Studio in August 2013. The weather was a bit grey and wet but we were warm and snug - and the bed was extraordinarily comfy! We loved the fold-away kitchen which had everything we needed, and enjoyed sitting in the comfortable armchairs, reading and looking out at the rain. The location is breath-taking - straight out the front door onto the hill, so we had great daily walking. Loved the paintings too and personal, homely touches like pebbles flowers and art books.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dursideer is an incredibly beautiful unspoilt village - we love it!
Liked least: The weather - but even in the rain it was an inspiring place to be.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic22arty
Carronbridge, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet nights,short walks and a sketch-book full of ideas.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013

I had used Ferndale Studio for workshops so when I heard Anne and Steve were turning it into a holiday let we gave ourselves an autumn week just to chill out and let the builders get on with destroying our Bathroom.
The studio is full of light and in the evening we read in the garden on the nights it was mild or walked up the Drovers Road to have a wee whiskey nightcap, taking in the view.
We bought cheese and smoked salmon and delicious bread from the farm shops and smokeries we found on our excursions to the Solway coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the warm personal welcome
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet spot at the very end of the road”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Ferndale is quite an unusual holiday cottage as it seems to also be an art gallery. It's a small cottage very well converted, a big room with a comfy sofa bed and a cute little Ikea kitchen, and it has a lovely big picture window looking out on the garden and over to the old village church. The little village is very pretty and the cottage sits just beside the start of some lovely walks over and between the hills. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, quiet and untroubled
Liked least: Would not suit someone who wanted noise and company!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing