We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect! Beautiful house in stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ghillie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect! Beautiful house in stunning location.”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We returned again to Ghillie's Cottage and our second visit was as perfect as the first one. The house is beautifully situated, and equipped and decorated to an extremely high standard...particularly the glorious bathroom!
We came with our two dogs and the location of the house was excellent for great walks locally (eg round Drumlanrig Castle estate or at nearby Morton Castle) .
The owners provided a very warm welcome and the hamper waiting for us was full of nice treats that were much enjoyed. Highly recommend this cottage and hope to return again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you so much. It was wonderful to welcome you back again and ask your opinion on whether anything in the cottage could be improved. We try to keep everything to a very high standard and feedback is very important...many thanks for being so kind! We look forward to your next visit. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Ghillies Cottage over new year. My husband, 4 kids and 2 dogs. We all had a wonderful and relaxing break. The cottage is simply beautiful, particularly the bathroom! The owners, Laura and David have thought of everything you could need to make this a home from home and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. Laura was even kind enough to lend us a coat for our youngest daughter who had forgotten to pack hers. Not ideal to have no coat whilst in Scotland in December! We will defiantly be booking again for a spring/summer visit. The walks around the cottage and the freedom to roam around with the dogs was a particular highlight.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you very much. It is very encouraging to get such positive feedback! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almac M
London
1 review
“Lovely, beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for a short break between Christmas and New Year and we all loved it. The only downside was having to leave.
The house looked great in the photos, but was even better in real life. The welcome hamper and Chriistmas tree were very much appreciated.
This is a beautiful, peaceful part of the world and there are gorgeous walks right from the front door. We all want to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bathroom!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you very much indeed for your super review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your short break and hope to welcome you back again in the future, perhaps for longer next time! Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S
Wombourne
1 review
“Wow, what a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Ghillies Cottage in September, the cottage was fantastic. The welcome basket was a lovely surprise and much appreciated. The cottage is beautifully appointed and very well looked after. The walks from the Cottage into Drumlanrig Estate meant that some days we didn't need to use our car. The castle is beautiful to see whilst walking through the forest and well worth a visit.

There was only the two of us and our little dog but the cottage could certainly cater for more people, it is very spacious. Penpont is only a short drive away where there is a shop and
tea room.

We can't recommend this cottage enough, in fact we have booked to go back next year, and we just can't wait.

The area is beautiful, you are deafened by the silence and the cottage is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review! It's very much appreciated and we look forward to having you back again next year. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel b
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a sublime location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ghillie's cottage is located in a quiet, rural environment, close to the villages of Thornhill eand Penpont. The cottage itself is very tastefully decorated and has all the modcons one could require. 2 double bedrooms, 2 singles and 2 bathrooms. 1 double bedroom and 1 bathroom are situated on the ground floor. The friendly owners are not far away and very helpful. I could recommend the cottage to anyone looking for rural location but with enough places to visit. It is absolutely very tastefully decorated and we enjoyed our stay. No inconveniences to be named, only that we had to get used to the "sound of silence"', if that could be called an inconvenience...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and decoration
Liked least: the fact that we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2014
Hello, It was lovely to read your kind review! Many thanks for taking the time, much appreciated. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and managed to visit so many other places while you were in the area. We would be delighted to welcome you both back again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing