We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza”

Ciao Bella Pizzeria
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Strand
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: Ciao Bella Pizzeria opened its doors in 2011 and has established itself in the Strand area as the Pizzeria of choice. Mouth-watering thin-base wood fire pizzas, tantalizing pasta's, aromatic cappuccinos and great service are the trademarks of this warm and friendly pizzeria. Owner Juan van der Merwe and his friendly staff are inviting you into the warm atmosphere for a glass of wine or a cold beer. Our flagship pizza, called the Grande is a massive 45cm and can possibly feed a small village. Take-Away menu and deliveries are available.
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped by for a small pizza. The pepperoni pizza was delicious with the Durban chili's. Charlie, the manager was very personable and visited with us. Very nice atmosphere and very nice pizza.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Lianne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Ciao Bella seems to have new management since we last visited. While the ambience is still nice, the pizza is not as we remembered. We had a Meaty Bella with additional toppings but it was completely dull. Not even additional seasoning, olive oil or other condiments could uplift the taste. Big on size, small on flavour. We just did not enjoy it as before and have decided to not go back again.

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank Michelle_Mouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaoBella_Owner, Owner at Ciao Bella Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

So sorry you feel that way Michelle. This is the first time anyone has called our pizza "dull". We have expanded our menu and improved our recipes over the past 3 and a half years and I think most of our clients will agree that the standard and taste of our food has improved - definitely not deteriorated. We are extremely proud of what we serve and do hope you find a better alternative in Strand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Very tasty pizzas with a good amount of filling on top at a good price. The pastas are very tasty and decent portions. I love the Cappuccino but some of my friends think it is too strong for them. In general I enjoy a strong filter cofee or Cappuccino. You do not have any beach view from the restaurant but there are nice palm trees and some flowers around a closeby traffic circle that you can enjoy when sitting outside.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 99Han00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The only wood fired pizza you will find in the Strand. This place has the extremely helpful staff and they are always willing to go the extra mile to make your meal that much more special. I eat here at least twice and it never disappoints. Thumbs up for their pizza, salad and yummy pastas. And the best part: they offer gluten free bases and pastas for those on kito!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Surprisingly nice restaurant. Good value, good pizzas, good burgers. Very good chips. Usually not busy.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deonv151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao Bella Pizzeria also viewed

 
Strand, Cape Town
Strand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ciao Bella Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing