We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ben's on the Beach

Ben's on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Strand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the beachfront in the Strand, Ben's on the Beach boasts spectacular views across False Bay, towards Cape Town. Veteran award-winning restaurateur Ben, and his wife, Shirley (a former hotel school lecturer), established Ben's in 2004. They have created a stylish yet relaxed venue, where a varied and well-priced selection of dishes is offered. Ben's is one of the few remaining establishments that continues to dry-age meat - the time-honored and superior method. At Ben's you will not find over-priced and under-portioned "haute cuisine". We believe that the new expression "less is more" is gobbeldygook, where food is concerned. We concentrate on the simple yet timeless dishes that diners return to again and again, such as a great steak, fresh linefish, and the ever-popular creme brulee. At Ben's, you will discover generous portions at honest prices. We look forward to your visit ... And then return!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the best time at Ben's. Excellent!! The staff and food was exceptional. Great atmosphere! Highly recommended.

Thank alice676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D1578OPjayk, Manager at Ben's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy you had a wonderful time with us.

Kindest regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were on a quick visit to the Cape, and after landing 14h00 we went straight to Strand to walk on the beach. It was windy and rainy, so after getting beach sand between our toes decided to eat light before heading to our family where we would enjoy dinner. As Ben's is nearly on the beach with a beautiful view of False Bay, we decided to have a light "in between lunch and dinner" there. We were met by delicious food that is beautifully served! We will definitely be back for the main course!

Thank Henri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D1578OPjayk, Manager at Ben's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback! So happy you had a great experience.
Looking forward to serving you your main course!

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is going to be my last visit to Ben's! The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and a stunning outlook. However, I have never had an amazing meal here. Yesterday I ordered a steak which was nice (not exceptional), but my friends ordered a chicken schnitzel which tasted of fish. I see reviews of excellence, but in my 5 or so visits I seem to have missed it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D1578OPjayk, Manager at Ben's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Chery, We appreciate the feedback, we aim to please and we are really sorry that we let you down!

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Special thank you to Bens on the Beach for an absolutely awesome evening. Special thanks to Ashlyn and Deeka for your great service. Food was superb and atmosphere was perfect for the occasion. 5 star service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D1578OPjayk, Manager at Ben's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

It is an absolute pleasure!We are so delighted that your evening was a hit!
Thank you for making us apart of such a special occasion!

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Trendy and comfortable restaurant with an awesome view of False Bay. Great menu catering for all palates. Waiters knowledgeable and able to advise on all menu items and ingredients. Food awesome, tasty and very well plated. To sweeten the Ben's experience, the complimentary cocoa dusted truffles / chocolates with the bill are delicious. Cant wait to visit Ben's again soon ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rianagel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben's on the Beach also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Ben's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing