We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maple Grove(Hogsback)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nutwoods Park(Hogsback)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
85
7
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
7
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse rideoutdoor showersouth africafire pitfull mooneco friendlypermaculture farmoff gridfriendly animalsunique placehis teamdown to earthcommunal areas areinstantly fell in loveabsolute highlightspent daysgreat atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile



The design of the eco huts are beautiful and the main house is breathtaking. However this place may not be for everyone, they take eco to the max!

An oil lamp in the rooms are the only light which gives it a really amazing ambience

The vegan communal dinners were DELICIOUS!

We didn't do any horse trails but the location is high in the hills above Hogsback so they are sure to be beautiful

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ziggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane E, Owner at Terra-Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hiya Ziggy

Thanx for the great compliments and review.

Yip you are quite right, Terra-Khaya is not for everybody and we like it that way :)
Thanx for being one of the special folk who chose and appreciate us.

Happies of days
ShaneO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The brains of this operation is Shane, a friendly, charismatic, personable owner with a love of the outdoors. This shows in the beautiful setting of the terra-Khama, from the de-composting toilet to the permaculture land. This is much more than an Eco-hostel. Expect dinners by the fire and a home from home environment. We loved out stay!

Room Tip: Suggest stay in a little chalet rather than camping
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabulousfabs2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane E, Owner at Terra-Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi Fabio & Rachel

Thanx for staying with us at Terra-Khaya and the great review :)

It was a real pleasure meeting you guys and going for that wonderful horse ride.

All the best on your travels further :)

Remember to come back for a longer ride and stay sometime

Cheers
Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Superfriendly staff and plenty of accommodation options, for all budgets. We really enjoyed the living area where everyone was approachable and where we had dinner all together. The horse riding we did with Shane is something we would definitely recommend! He takes you through the beautiful surroundings of the place and you cab really feel that he cares for the environment, something really special to experience!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane E, Owner at Terra-Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hiya Ron

Thanx for the great review :)
Was such a pleasure to spend the time with you and take you on a ride (the riding is truly my passion :))

We hope to see you again one day at Terra-Khaya

Happy Days
Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Terra-Khaya seems to attract truly wonderful people, and holds space for open, easy going relationships with the diverse travelers that are drawn there.
As back-packers go, it is pretty typical; easy going central communal 'lodge', kitchen, dining area & with a basic 'library', a great (if smokey) fire pit & stunning deck area. The dormitory accommodation has a special uniqueness in construction & decor style; the terraced camping is in a sheltered wooded area that is thoughtfully laid out (although I found the view onto recycle storage area distracting). The property has beautiful views over the valley and a lovely stream that runs through it, and the owner is making tremendous effort to repopulate the grounds with indigenous species, as well as utilizing the invader species constructively. I loved that they grow their own veggies and that there are short walking paths around the property. The outdoor shower & bathing overlooks the valley and is an absolute highlight for me personally.
There is a remarkable energy to Terra-Khaya and my experience was exceptional for the amazing people I connected with and the tranquility of it. This is a place to return to for a thorough recharge and to touch base with like-minded souls.

Room Tip: Most dorms overlook the valley, the camping site is well laid out and reasonably sheltered.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kappelgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane E, Owner at Terra-Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hiya Kelvin

Shot a Lot for the review :) It was majic spending the week with you, I'm glad you got to stay on a bit longer.

Thanks for the kick in the pants re the bulk recycling storage area, I have been wanting to move it to a better place for ages (its one of those jobs that nags me all the time).
The nature of trying to recycle and living 180km from the nearest recycling depot (and 300km from the best one) is that we have to collect a whole bunch of bags of recyclables and then when we head into the big city, grab a trailer and full it up will the plastic, glass and tins and get it to a reputable recycling depot.
So yip I do need to move the space and make it more user friendly ASAP :)
This pile of bags is such a reality check of how much junk we humans create and throw away, even when you try your damnedest to reduce reduce reduce :(

We are stoked you met wonderful souls and charged your energy at Terra-Khaya and look forward to your next re-boot :)

1LOVE
ShaneO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We have stayed at Terra Khaya before and came back because it is one of out favorite places. We stayed there the night before and after hiking the Amatolla trail. The authentic atmosphere and warm hospitality made it a unique backpackers experience. Our stay here inspired us to live more conscious towards our environment. The delicious food and inspiring people we met contributed to the great experience

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ameliavanzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane E, Owner at Terra-Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hi Amelia (And your Beautiful Family)

Thanx for the review (I must admit, i thought I had responded ages ago - it must have been our email comms)

It was such a delight to spend the time with you all and take you to the start of the trail.
I treasure the chats and smiles we shared.

I look forward to seeing each and every one of you again - You family really inspired me, more than words can explain.

Much Love n Happiness your Way
Shane (Lukhanyo)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews