We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4 499)
Filter reviews
4 499 results
Traveller rating
2 542
1 164
471
186
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 542
1 164
471
186
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside grill preferred club el patio golf cart market cafe piano bar entertainment staff room service coco cafe oceana restaurant ocean view french restaurant unlimited vacation club bike tour master suite preferred room main lobby
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 4 499 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My wife and I have been to may all inclusive resorts over the years... to name a few Excellence Playa Mujeres Mexico,
Sandals Royal Plantation Ocho Rios,Jamaica, 2 more in Punta Cana , etc.
We also years ago went to Secrets/Excellence in
Punta Cana ( when Excellence & Secrets had the name .. Excellence/Secrets ) .All of these were TOP SHELF in all areas.

I am going to keep this short and to the point.

Pros

The staff was great.

Cons

Below are just a few of my issues from my stay 6/4/2018 thru 6/9/2018.....

As soon as I registered after flying from Newark, NJ on an 8am flight. We were greeted by a gentleman Javier, that sat us down
and began giving us a sales pitch for Spa body & Spa massages. He was relentless.

Restaurants were either closed (Oceana ) or were closing for ( Seaside Grill ) for repair.

The Rendezvous Bar for 2 days had no air conditioning

All the restaurant except the ( market Café) had the worst air conditioning possible. Temp was 80+ . You would think restaurants would have normal AC.

When we called the concierge service to ask about the various restaurant status I would get different answers with each person I spoke with. No one address the air conditioning issue.

Of the (2) electronic keys we received only (1) worked. It' took them 4 times to get it right.

There were only (15) Blue floats available for everyone at the pool. I was told the others were damages with no replacement in sight. 250 people plus and 15 floats for everyone.

The room air conditioning only went as low as 71 degrees no matter how low I set it at. I was told it is what it is.

We were told we could eat meals at Dreams( right next store to Secrets) but NO ONE had any menus we could see.

We actually had 2 meals at Dreams and the restaurants were perfect. BUT we paid for Secrets not Dream.

For all the people staying at Secrets to get anywhere on the property or to go to Dreams there are 3 running golf carts which seat 6 to 8 people

To the average person who has never been to an all inclusive these issues maybe fine. To my wife and I we paid for a top shelf all inclusive and this was not worth the money.

Look at Excellence Playa Mujeres before your settle on Secrets. It's 100% worth spending a few dollars more to get what you paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

People are nice and facilities are clean, but food is terrible to say the least! I’ve been here for four days and with four more days to go I’m loosing weight. Nothing I have eaten is to my satisfaction. I’m so hungry and can’t wait to get back home. Totally ruined my vacation!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Imsodissaponted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel C, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Imsodissaponted,

Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor your personal review about your experience at our all-inclusive and adults only resort in the Mexican Caribbean. It makes us very happy to see that enjoyed the friendly attention of our staff and our clean facilities. We all work very hard to provide the best experience to all our guests. We deeply sorry to know your perception about the food, we offer 9 dining options: 1 buffet restaurant, 6 à la carte restaurants, a grill and a café, plus 24 hours room service. Also, all our guests have free flow access to all (10) restaurants located in our sister resort Dreams. We offer you our appologies and we hope you can give us the pleasure of welcome you again.

Kind reagrds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Stayed as a couple for 1 week end of June 2018. This is not our first visit to Mexico nor to a 5 star resort. Amazing aesthetics, cleanliness and excellent service. Thanks a lot to all the hard working stuff that made our stay even better. Constant smiles, follow ups and impeccable service.
-The rooms: housekeeping twice a day. Clean, average size for the standard room. We had partial ocean and partial construction view. Construction side didn't bother us one bit. If you are bothered by the construction, avoid building #3. Mini bar has no alcohol except for the beer. Among others you also get safety box, iPad to navigate through services and expresso machine (which out unfortunately didn't work)
-The pool: Kept very clean. If you like to be entertained, the pool area is for you (live music, DJ, etc.)
-The beach: constant efforts by the stuff to keep the algae away. Very clean and beautiful view. Peaceful escape to relax and enjoy the breeze
-Transportation: golf carts can be requested with a press of a button (free). The ride is very quick and gets your around the Secrets and also to nearby hotel Dreams
-Other hotel amenities: Definitely enjoyed Coco café with amazing everyday lattes
This is definitely more of a relaxing luxurious hotel which we absolutely loved! If you want more of an eventful stay, you can cross over to dreams and enjoy the water slides, pool area (kids around) and other amenities. If Dreams is to be compared to Secrets, I would say that we preferred Secrets for its more luxurious feel, its aesthetics and adults only aspect. Thank you for our amazing stay! :) To finish this review, here are some objective suggestions to make this resort an absolute winner:
-Please consider opening a buffet for the supper time (only restaurants are open at the supper time which this not practical for people with food restrictions (allergies, vegetarians, vegans, etc....) as they cannot navigate easily through the menus in the restaurants) and expanding the variety of choices at the dinner time. For a resort located on the oceanside, one and only type of fish (with no other seafood) for the whole resort is rather disappointing. Variating and expanding the menu, implementing more seafood, making themed suppers would make it a winner!

Room Tip: Avoid bulding #3 if you don't want to face construction area
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LADAGELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel C, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear LADAGELO,

Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor the details of your amazing one week vacation at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, thanks to our wonderful aesthetics, cleanliness and the excellent service of our friendly staff. We work very hard to provide the best experience to all our guests. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your huge swimming pool with infinity view and fun activities, beautiful beach with relaxing atmosphere, our golf cart 24-hours shuttle, all-inclusive restaurants, and the Exchange Privilege we share with our sister resort Dreams Playa Mujeres.
There is in fact a construction happening outside of the property and outside of the gated community of Playa Mujeres. So really nothing in property. The section that is somehow affected is the north side of the hotel. The noisy part of the construction (foundations) has already passed and we managed to have all north section close for most of the process. As per now, the only affectation will be losing some views eventually, yet be assured that when guests are buying a guaranteed view (Ocean Views, Partial OV, Ocean Front) the room is guaranteed not to be looking north. Additional to it no common areas have been affected, nor pool, nor beach or restaurants.
Thank you so much for your kind words and hope we have the honor of have you again for another wonderful vacation.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

A group of 8 of us met up at this resort and had an amazing time. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and had a small, informal vow renewal ceremony on our own and it was a dream. We had a partial ocean view room and our view was spectacular. Our room was amazing and the service was superb. The resort was small enough that our group easily met up each day without having to plan but was big enough to comfortably accommodate all guests. We absolutely loved the beds at the beach, which was white sand and beautifully maintained.

We loved Casino Night, the Rock Show, the Fire Show, the comedian and most of all we loved the Silent Disco. We thought that was such a neat idea and everyone had a great time.

One small caution- take bug spray! We were eaten alive by mosquitoes the first 2 nights and spent the rest of our trip slathering on anti-itch cream.

My only request for Secrets would be to vastly improve the ice cream bar in the Market Cafe. We are on vacation and we want to indulge! This is a luxury resort and having raisins and marshmellows on your ice cream bar is a travesty compared to how amazing everything else is. Please add chopped candy like Snickers, Butterfinger, Oreos, etc., more nuts, hot fudge, caramel. No one- NO ONE- wants raisins on their ice cream. :)

Room Tip: One side of rooms is next to construction. The other side overlooks the Dreams Resort. Definitely ask for the Dreams side.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel C, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Desi R,

Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor the details of your perfect 10 years anniversary trip at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort. It is amazing to see how much you enjoyed your renewal ceremony with us, it really touches our hearts. It makes us also glad to see that you had a wonderful time thanks to your suite with spectacular partial ocean view, amazing facilities and beautiful beach with white sand and blue waters. We are glad as well to see that you loved the different activities and night show we prepare and we really appreciatte your recommendations for the ice cream bar and mosquito repellent, our guests opinion is very important for us. We fumigate constantly and we recommend to our guests to bring mosquito repellent or buy it right here. Thank you for such amazing review and hope we have the honor of welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We stayed at Secrets Playa Mujeres and it was a very comfortable and relaxing visit. We always invest the extra money to benefit from the amenities provided by The Preferred Club; we prefer top shelf alcohol. The daily snacks were always fresh and appetizing. The beach was the best part of our trip as the weather was great and we love to lay on the beach all day. Big Shout out to Benito one of the beach servers. He provided excellent service, he was very friendly and he was very attentive to all of the guest. The food at the Oceana Restaurant was excellent as well as the meal we had at Maris restaurant at Dreams resort; definitely worth the trip. We only wish that there was a little entertainment on the beach for those who don't enjoy the pool area. Great vaca thanks to all the staff at Secrets!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ligirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel C, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear ligirl00,

Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor the details of your wonderful vacation at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort. It makes us very glad to see that you enjoyed the benefits of our Preferred Club as top shelf alcohol at our Preferred Lounge. We are very happy to know as well that you had a wonderful time at our beautiful beach with white sand and blue waters, the delicious food of our all-inclusive restaurants, the kind attention of our friendly staff and our Exchange Privileges with our sister resort Dreams Playa Mujeres. Thank you so much for your lovely words and hope we have the honor of welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews