We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional townhouse in a charming village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Number Six

you may never want to leave...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
you may never want to leave...
Twin bedded top floor room Light and airy top floor with 2 double beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
you may never want to leave...
Twin bedded top floor room
Light and airy top floor with 2 double beds
Light, bright and comfortable master bedroom
Bath in the master bedroom
Happy Holidays
Salon from where you can watch the chef cooking
Grab a book from the shelf
Bright and large twin bedded top floor room
Light and spacious master bedroom
time for a cocktail?
The small terrace is perfect for that evening glass of wine
The kitchen leads to the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eymoutiers, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James3884...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The house is central to the town of Eymoutiers and the Bed I slept in was great and here are the BUTTS I am 64 with ankles and hips that do not cope with steep stairs, and that is what the house has. The layout is not good as the only bathroom is a level below the bedroom(s) The final nail in the coffin was I was on a business trip so I booked and paid for 7 nights after 2 nights I gave warning I was leaving and asked for a part refund. I was told no refund would be forthcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed and the location was fine
Liked least: Steep stairs, disappointing financial outcome
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
We are sad that your house hunting trip ended so abruptly for you.
The layout of the house is clear in our description and we also made a point of referencing the steep stairs.
Sadly we were unable to offer a refund as we had turned away other bookings for your chosen period.
A discount was given though at the time of booking.
It is a shame that your time in France did not meet your expectations. We understand from experience that property searching can be difficult and hope that you have not been deterred.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBrStok...
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Traditional townhouse in a charming village”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house has 4 storeys plus cellar and attic and is well-furnished in traditional style but with all mod cons (washing machine, dish-washer, microwave, cafetiere etc), including a bath in the huge main bedroom and also a separate shower room. The welcome pack is unbelievably generous and Nicki and Clive have provided everything you could need - hundreds of books, DVDs, CDs, games, writing paper, first aid kit, iron, hairdryer, picnic basket and towels, some toiletries etc. There is also a small patio at the back with chairs, tables and barbecue. It is just 2 minutes from the centre of a charming and bustling village and in the middle of the beautiful Limousin. It is one of the nicest and best-equipped houses we've stayed in. The stairs (3 flights to the top) may be a problem for the less fit and a 2nd loo might be helpful for families, but apart from that it is super.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and proximity to village
Liked least: Loo being one floor down
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed Number Six and Eymoutiers.
There is a plan to install a 2nd toilet at the end of this year, permission willing!
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Nicki and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukyankee9...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful French Townhouse in Hospitable Village”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nicki and Clive have created a really beautiful holiday home in a fantastic village. From the moment we booked, Nicki did everything she could to make our visit as easy as possible.

The house is so lovely - exactly what I pictured a stylish French townhouse to be. The furniture was gorgeous and authentic, but we didn't feel it was too precious for our three children to make themselves at home. There was a great selection of DVDs and the kids enjoyed trying to translate Les Ninjas Tortes (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) on French TV. The kitchen and upstairs living room are both really good sizes. There is a very small balcony outside of the kitchen with French doors and we appreciated this outside space in which to have a drink once the kids were (finally) in bed. The bedrooms were incredibly spacious and the roll top bath was fun.

The village of Eymoutiers was really nice to explore - we went to two good restaurants (all suggested by previous guests in the house's book) and amazing boulangeries/chocolatiers. My husband was more than delighted to discover the wine shop near the river (he only opened sporadically during out stay). There is a great municipal park on the other side of the river and we went there almost every day to give the kids a run around. The lakes are not to be missed - we were there out of season and had the entire place to ourselves! We walked across the bridge onto the island and had an idyllic picnic lunch with horses, donkeys and a very loud turkey! The fishing looked amazing and my husband was devastated to have left his kit at home. We left the house clean and Nicki returned our deposit before we had even arrived back in England.

We had a really special family holiday at Number Six this year - thank you Nicki and Clive for allowing us to discover a very beautiful part of France that was unknown to us before our wonderful trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you to all for the wonderful reviews of Number Six.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and all that Eymoutiers and the Limousin has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Nicki and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson G
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really great stay and excellent value”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked to stay for one week in January 2014 and Nicki and Clive couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. The house itself was everything a typical French townhouse should be and Eymoutiers is a lovely town, even in Winter.

I would not hesitate to recommend this holiday let to anyone wanting a base to explore the central Limousin and can genuinely say the owners cannot do enough for you. Unfortunately we had to leave early but our security deposit was returned to us within a couple of days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: lack of garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couple312
Kingston upon Hull
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely stay - ideal location”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Number Six was a lovely French townhouse with lots of character and charm and located in the centre of Eymoutiers, The property was as described and an extra bed was provided to accommodate our party which was a lovely gesture by the owners. As there were 5 adults I did have reservation about 1 bathroom but the main bedroom had a sink which was very handy so we had no problems with regard to bathroom facilities. . The property was large enough to have your own space if you needed it. There were lots of books, games, music and videos which our party made full use of. It was a lovely surprise to find an outside space which we enjoyed on the warm evenings whilst we were there. It was a really good idea to have the picnicware available which we used and there were also beach towels provided so you don't need to take your own if you travel with cabin only luggage. The hospitality of the owners was excellent and our deposit was returned extremely quickly, as stated in the information provided.

The town itself had all the amenities you would need, including a supermarket, restaurants, bakers and butchers. Everyone really enjoyed staying at the property and the area generally - it was a lovely relaxing place to be. We hope to return to the area again and would have no hesitation in booking or recommending Number Six. If you are looking for an authentic French experience in a lovely property and area to match you will not be disappointed and thank you to Clive and Nicki for allowing us to have such a wonderful opportunity to experience Number Six.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing