We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$288
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/20
Hotels.com
US$288
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/20
Booking.com
US$288
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/15
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$288
eDreamsUS$288
CheapTicketsUS$288
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 197)
Filter reviews
2 197 results
Traveller rating
1 601
432
113
26
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 601
432
113
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool day bed swing bed outdoor shower ivory bar activity room beautiful property kappil river back waters deluxe villa private beach bay restaurant in room dining special thanks outdoor activities bird watching f b manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2 197 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

The Taj Bekal is wrapped by the sea on one side and the backwaters on the other. It is a very relaxing environment owing to the abundance of greenery and the silence on offer. The birds chirping, waves lashing and water flowing are the sounds we hear.

We stayed in the deluxe villa with plunge pool. It is a spacious room with good privacy and we enjoyed the plunge pool. In retrospect we should have spend a little more money and taken the premium villa as they have a sit out that opens to the lawn and backwater.

Those looking not to splurge can opt for the deluxe room with sitout which also opens to the lawn and backwater.

A host of activities are available at the resort - most of which are payable. We are opting for the moonlight cruise on the backwater.

The facilities, dining and service. at the resort and the service is upto the usual Taj standards.

Taj surprised us with the room done specially for our anniversary and with a yummy cake. A big thank you for this special gesture and for making by our day memorable.

Overall a place we should definitely visit.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SreekanthSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit Singh, General Manager at Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Dear SreekanthSS,

We are delighted and very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We appreciate your valuable
and detailed feedback of our hotel and the hospitality provided by our associates.

It is always heartening to receive such positive feedback from a well-travelled guest, such as yourself.

We greatly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Amit Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021

Wonderful and warm hospitality by GM Amit and his team including Shiju, Sharan and staff. Room location and experience was top notch, as were the meals and activities. Trips to the beach were the highlight along with the backwater ambience.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank AtulB296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit Singh, General Manager at Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Dear AtulB296,

We are delighted and very pleased to note that you and your family had an enjoyable experience with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback of our hotel and the hospitality provided by our associates.

It is always heartening to receive such positive feedback from a well-travelled guest, such as yourself.

We greatly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Amit Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021

We travelled to Taj Bekal over the Holi weekend and had the most refreshing break. The food is absolutely spectacular at the Ivory and Back water restaurants - must try the Sadhya for lunch - it was delicious. The pool villas were the highlight of our trip - would recommend upgrading. Of course, in line with Taj standards, the property is well kept and the staff is very polite and helpful. The view of the backwaters and the ocean from the property is breathtaking.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kapsikum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit Singh, General Manager at Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Dear kapsikum,

We are delighted and very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We appreciate your valuable
and detailed feedback of our hotel and the hospitality provided by our associates.

It is always heartening to receive such positive feedback from a well-travelled guest, such as yourself.

We greatly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Amit Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021 via mobile

Taj bekal resort & spa is a one stop destination for all your needs! It’s an huge place of 26 acre area situated besides “Backwater”. In which they have 75 rooms with categories like
1. Superior room with private balcony
2. Superior Room With Sit Out
3. Deluxe Villa Courtyard View
4. Deluxe Villa with Courtyard and Plunge Pool
5. Premium Villa with Courtyard and Plunge Pool
6. Luxury Suite 1 Bedroom with Terrace
7. Luxury Suite 1 Bedroom with Plunge Pool
8. 4 Bedroom Family Villa King and Twin Bed
9. 4 Bedroom Family Villa King and Twin Bed
10. Presidential Suite
All the above rooms offer a flat screen tv, a mini bar, cordeless phone, wifi (with a good speed),
Bathtub. Some of the rooms also have a big lunge pool too. They also have many modern amenities like
Gym, archery, paintball, kayak, net cricket, swimming pool,private beach access, Atv ride, photo shoot, Moonlight rafting.
If you want to roam around this big 26 acre property , then they have a buggy with a sophisticated driver , who will take you all the way to this huge place. One should try this it’s very relaxing. Here there are two restaurants, but bcz of COVID-19 one restaurant is temporarily closed (by the bay) where they delicious sea food. Other one they have is Backwater cafe. It’s an huge restaurant with sitting capacity of almost more than 100 persons. They here serves “delicious and yummy food” I can bet that one can never say that food here is not good . There are many options too select from what to eat , they Chinese, Mexican, Italian, North Indian, South Indian, and many more items in veg and non veg . One should also not miss high tea.
Last but not least there hospitality, service, staff, property, everything is upto the mark. “NO ONE. AN BEAT TAJ” in any of above . Again the staff here is super or I can say extraordinary . They provide excellent service. The duty managers Ms supari and Mr manu both makes over stay superb by helping us in many things. The staff here in taj bekal is very polite, kind and helpfull they always have a smiling face . Once we were late for dinner it was almost 10:30 there closing time, but they serves us very well. I have never seen staff like this.
Hope to see you soon “TAJ BEAKL RESORT & SPA, Kerela.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 755brijesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit Singh, General Manager at Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Dear 755brijesh,

We are delighted and very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We appreciate your valuable
and detailed feedback of our hotel and the hospitality provided by our associates.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our colleagues, Supari and Manu. They have all asked me to thank you for your kind words of praise. It is always heartening to receive such positive feedback from a well-travelled guest, such as yourself.

Thank you once again for this wonderful feedback, which will only encourage us and will go a long way in motivating the team, to continue to delight our guests.

We greatly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Amit Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

This was my 2nd visit to Taj Bekal and the property does not disappoint. The property is beautiful and the overall upkeep of rooms is good. DO NOT MISS THE SPA here. They have amazing services.

Positives -
1) Overall upkeep of the resort and beach
2) SPA is super nice
3) Evening tea/ coffee served by the backwater
4) Size of rooms

Some not to so great things -
5) Bekal land line number is a nightmare to get through.. it just doesn't connect. We had to reach Taj helpdesk and have someone call us back
6) There were 42 families / rooms checking in when we were checking out -- looks like they just take reservations and not having a cap on number of people due to covid
7) Food - items are many - taste can be improved.
8) No fan in the main lobby area and the water/coy pond needs a real clean up

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank Medha Shrirang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit Singh, General Manager at Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Dear Medha Shrirang D,

I would like to thank you for taking out time and speaking with me. Your detailed feedback of our hotel is much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Amit Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews