We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely week away”
other travellers have booked this property
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm The Linhay Twin Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Twin Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Family Bathroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Double Bedroom and En-suite at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Double Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Single Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
Sand Pit at Lower Hearson Farm
Heated Outdoor Covered Swimming Pool Open Easter to End Of September
Friendly Pigs at Lower Hearson Farm
Sheep Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Pig Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Dog Walking at Lower Hearson Farm
Pigs at Lower Hearson Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Swimbridge, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OJFUK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lovely week away”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a very nice week at Lower Hearson Farm in the Easter Holidays. The Linhay was ideal for us with our three small children, very comfortable and everything we needed to relax and enjoy ourselves in between our days out and the all important feeding of the animals!

For the kids the highlight of the week was feeding the animals twice each day. We got away with just one broken egg, and they had no problems with feeding the pigs and then heading home to eat Farmer Graham's bacon. Very handily the cottage has a washing machine. Early spring means there is still a fair amount of mud around and we became very well acquainted with clothes washing facilities.

There was a good range of things to do in the area, beaches, small towns and National Trust properties. Barnstaple is a 10-15 minute drive from the farm.

We popped out on a couple of occasions in the evening and found a good range of local pubs to eat in.

Lower Hearson was a lovely place to stay and Graham and his family were very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped, warm and comfortable cottages
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The boys were good fun and certainly got stuck in with the animal feeding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyacinth...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Warm ,comfortable ,well equipped”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had to cancel our original reservation but Mr Pelling was very helpful with our booking
The accomodation in the Linhay was so good,with excellent heating and most comfortable beds and everywhere is spotless
Our dogs thought they died and gone to heaven especially when the farm dog visited us for biscuits. A friend dropping in !
The farm pigs and hens were fascinating and our visiting relatives wanted to move in on a permanent basis
The Pellings have equipped the cottage with everything you could need
Sainsburys delivered efficiently filling the freezer etc
Once getting to the farm is conquered it is easy short drive into Barnstaple and other local attractions.
Remember your NT card for Arlington court and Watersmeet
The cottage has plenty of leaflets for local attractions
There is a games room and seasonal swimming pool (too cold when we visited)
I hope to go back later in the year and know it will be good value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Intermittent wi fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure having you both stay with us. Tavy enjoyed her visit for afternoon tea very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great having you all to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and general atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
It is always a real pleasure to have you all here staying with us. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicola M
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent farm experience holiday, great location and accomodation”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed on the farm with young children (age 8 and 4) over the Easter holidays. Had a brilliant time, the children really loved feeding the animals and helping out. We even got to see new born piglets! A great base for North Devon and the main attractions including great beaches. Loads to do on the farm too with trampoline, climbing frame, games room and pool. The children were always entertained. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner and nothing was too much trouble, and the children loved the Easter treasure hunt that he organised. The accommodation was great, it had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend this farm holiday to our friends, and we would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to help out on the farm
Liked least: We honestly cannot thing of anything we did not like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are glad that you had a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing