We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, spacious, old barn, in a fantastic...”
other travellers have booked this property
May 2013
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
May 2013
View from Uwchmynydd
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
May 2013
View from Uwchmynydd
Front
Porth Neigwl. looking towards Rhiw.
Bedroom 3 - Double - has a fold away bed as well.
Bedroom 4 - En-Suite twin room
Bathroom - separate washroom/toilet next to it.
Bedroom 2 - Twin room - has a fold away bed.
View from Uwchmynydd of Bardsey Island -Ynys Enlli
Bedroom 1 - Double
Bedroom 1 - Double
Tyn Y Parc - House and Barn sleeps 20 May 2013
May 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Rhiw, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen B
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, spacious, old barn, in a fantastic, quiet location.”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, we loved the barn, the facilities it offered and it's idiosyncrasies; it suited all ages in our extended family. We immediately felt at home (thank you for letting us bring our dogs Douglas). The children soon found the 'games cupboard' and we all browsed the bookshelf. Plenty of space to find a comfortable quiet spot or just enjoy the local walks or fantastic views.
None of us wanted to leave and we all agreed we would return. As we have now enjoyed holidays in both The Barn and The Cottage next door, we are spoiled for choice which one to stay in next!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, space, facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review Helen :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy C
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I read the reviews before booking but I prefer to make my own mind up. We stayed in the Barn.
The cottage is typical of it's age and location. It's an old building that felt slightly damp until we aired it. There had been a few weeks of rain. We had to fend off the spiders making their webs daily and butterflies flew in and out again.
There were two bags of coal left for us and we soon had a roaring fire going.
We were very lucky with the excellent weather and had all of the doors open.
Douglas checked if everything was ok and then left us to enjoy ourselves.
Yes, everything is dated. The duvet covers look like from the 70's, but everything was clean and the beds very comfortable.
We were a mix of ages from Grumpa and Nagma our daughter and 3 children aged 3 and under, our friend and the cat!
We had enough space to roam about without feeling on top of each other. At night, it was nice to sit out in the dark, having a few drinks and listening to the sound of silence or the owl.
I compared our break with a famous caravan site. They wanted over £800 for the same week for a two bedroom caravan. We paid around £500 for a rambling 4 bedroom cottage.
Much as people criticism of the old decor, which it is, it was an excellent value holiday. If you want upmarket, expect to pay the upmarket prices.
It is a no frills place but in a quiet country location. What more could you want?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The property is in need of some TLC
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you for your fantastic and honest review. It was a great pleasure to meet you all :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip B
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dispiriting & very disappointing”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We expected basic, but not dirty, dilapidated basic. A hodge podge of furniture, with at least two slashed seats, (though why office chairs in a conservatory?). We had to clean the kitchen & bathrooms before use. The carpets were appallingly dirty so we kept our shoes on. One bedroom, very damp. It made for a disappointig stay. Not somewhere you would want to spend a rainy day indoors. Not recommended at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
I dispute every claim this person makes in this review and at the time the complaint was made. I know what the intention is and will not fall for it! I personally cleaned my home that day and it was not dirty in any way. I find it quite sad this person feels they have has to say these untrue things but take great joy and thanks in all the other great and honest 4 and 5 star reviews my other wonderful guest have left for me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Huge barn in a Wonderful Location.”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2013

This maybe a review from a holiday I took two years ago, and details of where we went on which day may be sketchy, but the accommodation and it's location will never be forgotten. I did my research on google maps before setting off so I knew the postcode of the place wouldn't get me to the door but the place is marked on g maps so in combination with google earth the drive way I needed to turn down was a fresh picture in my mind when we set out and I didn't have a problem finding the place at all. The final few miles when you drive down the coast road does at times give some wonderful views.
I think that is the essence of this property, it is in a wonderful peaceful setting but easily within a short drive to many of North Wales's quaint little seaside villages and towns. There is a beach a short walk away, across the road at the end of the drive and down a natural hill, which is daunting at first sight but with care easily negotiated. But for me the walks around the property were excellent through woods, and around the pond are really worth exploring fully.
The barn is huge and I never quite worked out how many it slept, it was just my spouse and I (although we had a visitor for a couple of days) with our two cats so it was like a mansion to us. The kitchen was clean and stocked with all you need. For me the conversion got it right with the size, not too small but not taking up the space for living. The bathroom was the same, not too small but not too large and was clean.
I slept well every night of my holiday so the bed was comfy, as was the sitting/dining room with plenty of seating to choose from. I say sitting/dining room but you could put a wall half way across and still have two very large rooms. The size of the barn would suit a family or a group of friends wanting a getaway from the rat race without the feeling of claustrophobia.
The down sides: the wifi was a little restricted while we were there, there was a problem getting reception on the TV (Le tour week and I am a major fan) but Douglas did sort that out for me as soon as he could and without fuss. Other than that I can't think of any problems we encountered. Douglas was on site in a caravan most of the week so had we encountered any problems he was available for a fix but he left us alone to enjoy our holiday.
This is an excellent base to explore North Wales as we spent many a day on a beach and with the wonderful walks you can explore just around the barn it would make any stay very pleasurable. Hgh recommendation from both me and my spouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: restricted wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
What a great review! I'm so glad you have such a wonderful memory of my home. Thank you so much :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tansam666
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Omg perfect,just perfect if you want peace and quiet, beautiful veiws. We had a fantastic time, beach just a short drive away,lovely walk through the forest to the pond. House and barn are massive, kids and dogs loved the space outside, we've stayed twice now once in October 14 and July 15 and can't wait to go next year. Thankyou Douglas xxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Always a pleasure to have you all stay at my home and you always leave it so clean. Thank you so much :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing