We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, rural retreat with plenty to do for...”
other travellers have booked this property
May 2013
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
May 2013
Tyn Y Parc - House and Barn sleeps 20 Front view from field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
May 2013
Tyn Y Parc - House and Barn sleeps 20
Front view from field
Bardsey - Ynys Enlli from mainland
Front view from field
Porth Neigwl from Rhiw
Front view
Upstair landing
Dining room
Dining room
Living room
Porth Niegwl - A few minutes walk from the house
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rhiw, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
glauxtheo...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tranquil, rural retreat with plenty to do for 'outdoorsy' kids”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Tyn Y Parc is an authentic welsh farmhouse set in miles of the most beautiful Welsh countryside. The house, which was spotlessly clean, had everything we needed: we particularly liked the large fridge, microwave, well stocked kitchen, picnic table with fantastic views and the pool table. The house has 3 bedrooms (2 with double bed and bunk beds and 1 twin) and a large bathroom with shower and bath and a downstairs loo.
Our children (10 and 7) loved playing in the tree house in the grounds with all its swings and branches to climb. The WiFi was useful, but intermittent making planning days out difficult, but we had fortunately thought to take along OS Explorer Map 253 - phew!

We loved exploring the neighbouring National Trust woodland which supports a wide variety of wildlife and includes a pond with picnic tables, huge eucalyptus trees and the ancient Ffynnon Sant (an ancient well which was one of the last stops on the pilgramage to Bardsey Island) from which the house gets its water supply.

Walking is great in the surrounding countryside and a hike to the top of neighbouring Mynydd Rhiw is well worth the effort for the views of Hell's Mouth and over to the other side of the peninsular.

A very precipitous path (which has largely subsided away) takes you down to the sands of Hells Mouth at the end of the track leading up to the house and the National Trust property of Plas Yn Rhiw is an easy walk away.

Many beaches are just a short drive - we particularly liked Porth Colman, the north beach of Abersoch and Whistling Sands (which also has loos and a cafe!).

The owner, Douglas was extremely helpful and handily lives on site should you need him!
We had a fabulous time and felt the property was fantastic value for money. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and surrounding countryside
Liked least: The washing line and pegs had seen better days (but thank goodness for a washing machine!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you for your fantastic review. It was a great pleasure to meet you all :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FayeBlaze
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We got exactly what we wanted 😊”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this because after 4 years in a row of going abroad & gaining a rescue dog we decided we wanted a simple relaxing week away which the dogs could also enjoy which is exactly what we got. It rained bad for a couple of days but we still had fun watching the dogs loving the walks & it was lovely to come home get dry & relax in front of the log fire with the family for he evening, we also had a couple of sunny days we enjoyed at the stunning beach a short walk away & in the rock pools, we was the only ones on there most the time which was really nice. I have nothing bad to say about the cottage, we all absolutely loved it & loved that everything was simple so we didn't have to worry about the dogs or child wrecking anything. There was also a dogs bowel, dog toy & two poo bag carriers filled with bags which we though was a really thoughtful touch. So all in all we as a family of 2 grandparents, 2 adult children a teenage grandchild & 2 dogs we absolutely loved it & would defo recommend if it's a relaxing & peaceful holiday you are looking for, we would defo come back . Thanks alot for having us Mr Douglas & we wish you all the best for the future, the Adkins family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for kind and honest review, I'm so happy you all had a great time.
Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not as expected.”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The picture does not show the true visual of it. The area itself is lovely but the cottage was not what we expected, it was cold, damp, I am sorry but would not recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the surrounding countryside
Liked least: the cold, the cost of heating, so couldnt use it, made me ill, we had to come home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
I'm so sorry​ it was felt that my home was​n't​ as expected​ in the picture. It has been a very wet period weather wise ​(70 days of rain) ​and I did everything I could to make sure ​guests would be warm. I supplied free coal and wood and also the central heating had 30 hours of free time which is a big cost to bear considering the great value winter rate. My previous ​winter ​guests experienced the same or worse w​eather​ conditions and many have already rebooked. Thankfully my previous 4 and 5 reviews are reflected in the best light.​ L​eaving a low rating ​because of winter conditions is unfair in the extreme​ especially as it's my only income. Once again I'm sorry, Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fabulous place!”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A cosy and comfortable cottage where you can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

The cottage (and Douglas) makes you instantly at home so the holiday starts the moment you arrive rather than needing time to settle in.

The surrounding grounds are amazing and seem endless, our dogs loved it and we could just open the door and let them enjoy themselves.

The views are amazing, you can see Hells Mouth from upstairs and the mountains in the distance.

This was our first time here but it wont be the last - we provisionally booked for next year while we were there!

Thank you Douglas

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank for your kind review Shirley :) See you next year.
Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steveb130...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location with piece and quiet”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A lovely location for peace and quiet, came here with my wife and family dog. Endless places to walk nearby and great views. The cottage is basic which made it easy to live in during our stay, not feeling that we dare not use it in case we damaged something. Everything there we needed. Liked the log burner and chopping our own logs from the log store. If you want a quiet away from it holiday can recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing