We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful location on the north coast!”
other travellers have booked this property
Relaxing in the Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing in the Pool
Sundowner entrance Sundown view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Relaxing in the Pool
Sundowner entrance
Sundown view
Spencer, Daisy and Lizzie take it easy
Lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Lavender bedroom
Lavender bedroom
Pink bedroom
Pink bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom with laundry area
Pool area
Pool view
Terrace
Verandah  (some exercise equipment at other end if you feel keen!)
Terraced gardens and fruit trees
Garden Foliage
Garden Flowers
Many beautiful birds visit us
View to the north
Another glorious sunset view from the Verandah
Daisy on the edge!
Nice rainbow (from balcony)
Spice - our caretaker and handyman
More flowers
Island Girl (Catamaran Cruise) from balcony
Another Sunset....from the balcony
Fish on sale at Lambeau
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Moriah, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
write_stu...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful location on the north coast!”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On a high ridge overlooking the Caribbean Sea with a west exposure, the evenings were pleasently breezy. Close to Castara and not too far from Scarborough, we spent most of our time exploring this paradise in a rental SUV from Bruce Taylor. Our hosts, Roger and Annie were more than helpful and their cheerfulness was infectious. Their two bedroom apartment was well stocked, they had food and wine in the refrigerator for us upon our late arrival and their dogs, Jackson and Daisy Mae were very friendly. We would certainly recommend Sundowner as an ideal base for those searching for the perfect beach as there are enough of those on Tobago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Thanks Brian, nice review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if there was any particular reason for dropping a star! Roger and Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh...
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great apartment in a tranquil location with serene views”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My wife and I stayed at Sundowner in January 2017 for 1 week. It’s our first time in Tobago and we wanted a quiet place, away from the main tourist drag.

Sundowner is ideally located, close enough for easy access by car to the main tourist spots, but a tranquil location in the hills, on the edge of the village of Moriah. Sundowner is a detached house in its own land with a perimeter fence and gate, accessed via a short track. It was a lovely place to come back to at the end of the day, and also nice to hang out on slow mornings by the infinity pool, which felt very private with amazing views We loved the covered west facing terrace too, watching the hummingbirds at the bird feeder, and the sun set over the sea in the evenings.

The apartment itself is really spacious and well equipped, with good air conditioning. The beds are comfortable and there is a great shower. The owners Roger and Annie, a lovely retired couple, stay in Tobago for half the year, and live above the apartment. They were really helpful and keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay (Roger does a mean Rum Punch too!).

Our favourite beach destination was Castara, a 15 minute drive, with great snorkelling, and good options for lunch in the village!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thanks very much - we enjoyed having you stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masaccio
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
873 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
“Beautiful, if rather remote”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

You do have to be prepared for being in the middle of nowhere (well, 25 minutes from restaurants or supermarkets) but once you accept that this is what you want, the location is truly stunning. The views are every bit as breathtaking as any of the photos and the pool fabulous.

As many have mentioned, the caretaker will do his best to make you feel at home and point out shops and provide fruit and vegetables from the garden when they are available.

Facilities are typical for most good rentals and the property has pretty much everything you need, though some things have not been treated well by the various guests. The villa is mostly very clean, but the dishwasher was mouldy and needed some serious attention so we didn't use it.

Our bed was comfortable and the AC in the bedroom welcomed as it can get a bit stuffy without it in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thanks for the good review. I have certainly followed up on the dishwasher problem and advised Spice, our caretaker, accordingly.
Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reneella
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in Sundowner for a week following a hectic tour of South America and Galapagos. It was a perfect end to a fantastic holiday. The apartment is set on a hillside above a native forest with 180 degree sea views. We enjoyed outdoor evenings chilling on the spacious balcony watching the local wildlife and admiring amazing sunsets. Indoors the apartment is very spacious and clean with everything you need for a self catering holiday. Super small pool was welcome arty the end of a hot day. Spice, the on site caretaker was very generous with his time and gave us home grown tomatoes and lemons. The dogs are very amusing and offer a sense of added security as they bark at visitors.
We definitely needed a car and Taylors car hire picked us up at the airport and took us to Sundowner (we would never have found it in the dark by ourselves). The roads are unmarked but we managed to explore most of the island and get back to the accommodation by noting local landmarks.
We would definitely return to Sundowner if we revisit Tobago and would recommend it to nature lovers seeking a peaceful, comfortable base to explore this beautiful island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thanks very much for taking the time and trouble to post this positive review. We will pass on your compliments to Spice and hope to see you back again some time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
787mtp
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Sundowner is in a fantastic location, conviently positioned out of the hustle of Crown Point but close enough to civilisation that it is possible, as we did, to do activities every day. Roger and Annie are great hosts and the apartment has everything you need for a week of bliss. Sitting on the deck, drinking a Stag watching the hummingbirds hum against the backdrop of the Caribbean Sea is as nice a way to watch the sun go down as anywhere in the world!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing