We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As good as it gets!”
other travellers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
BobGrieve
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

If you're looking for a warm, cozy, homely cottage right in the heart of the beautiful Cotswolds, then look no further. Hope Cottage was the perfect getaway home for us. The roaring fire kept us warm and snug; the views around the villages were absolutely stunning; and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. I could not recommend this cottage highly enough!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaventu
london
1 review
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have just returned from an amazing weekend at Hope Cottage. We went to celebrate my husband´s 50s. Everything was perfect and Sarah was always available to answer all my questions regarding restaurants and taxis.
The village is beautiful, lovely walks and all the information is in a folder so need to do any research.
We went for lunch to the Bell in Sapperton, beautiful local pub. We can´t wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srm34633
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

After my wife and I visited Hope Cottage at the end of last year we wanted to to go back with my wife's parents to see what they thought. They love it as much as we do. Although it is a one bedroom cottage it has a sofa bed and another bed on a mezzanine floor so it was perfectly comfortable for the four of us. I would recommend that anyone sleeping on the mezzanine floor is reasonably agile though. It helped that the weather was great but you can't beat sitting on the terrace having breakfast or afternoon drinks overlooking the valley. The owner, Sarah was so helpful suggesting places to take my In-Laws and if you are into walking you can't pick a better base.
Can't recommend this cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the cottage renovation and the location
Liked least: Haven't found anything we don't like yet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“At home in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our friendly host made sure there was everything we needed in the rustic property. We immediately became part of a local community and felt very welcomed by the locals. A wonderfully different place to stay and relax and visit surrounding towns.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisag86
essex, england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a magical setting”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and my husband along with our two dogs have just returned home from a wonderful weekend staying in hope cottage. The cottage itself is full of charm and the views from the garden are amazing. A beautiful place to relax and unwind with farmland walks on your doorstep. We will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing