We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
myrna493
Ottawa, Canada
A perfect getaway
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2024
We arrived after long flights from Canada an and London. The setting is tranquil with a welcoming pool and beautifully kept gardens, facing the magaliesberg mountains. The food is gourmet and service impeccable. John and Terrence are there to look after our every need. I cannot recommend this little piece of heaven enough.
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Free parking
Pool
Garden Room 10
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.7 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
8.9 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
7.9 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
8.8 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.8 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Free Wifi
Pool
Imbabali Restaurant & Sports Bar & Pool
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
13.0 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
12.2 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
11.0 km from Quiet Mountain Country House
View more hotels in Hekpoort
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
59
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
9
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2023

Just a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg, Quiet Mountain country house is situated in the beautiful Magaliesburg. It is a beautiful, idyllic retreat with lovely landscaped gardens, a pond with swans and a stunning view of the mountain. John & Terence were engaging & absolutely fantastic hosts & their staff was friendly, always willing to assist & unobtrusive. The food was a variety of delicious 3 course meals every evening which tantalised our palates. The suites were decorated with beautiful antique furniture & it felt as if you were stepping into a different era. A stunning place to get away from the hustle and bustle & to enjoy the peace and quiet. We had an amazing stay and would highly recommend Quiet Mountain.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sunshine52508217719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2021 via mobile

Once again Terence and John at Quiet Mountain didn’t disappoint. My very best go to for a relaxing few days - the food is absolutely outstanding and the attention to detail faultless. If you haven’t tried this magical place you are missing out - thank you.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jenniferBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

Quiet mountain is a spectacularly beautiful lodge. The setting is magnificent, the accommodation is spotless and comfortable and the food is sublime. They host very few guests at a time and with their no children policy, it is always quiet and peaceful. The service is efficient and unobtrusive. Jon is an engaging host with a wonderful sense of humour.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Quite mountain is just what it is , a delight to be in the Highveld with views of ancient mountains and ample walking trails, while the summer clouds billow high above you and cool down the heat .

Birdwatchers Haven if your a twitcher , if you enjoy your food then this is for you , home grown salads and ingredients , onsite heard of dairy cows for fresh milk and luxurious cream , silver service dinners and hearty farm breakfasts .

The style of the venue is somewhat eclectic as are the owners , superb staff backing them up with effortless and happy faces .

I’ll be recommending them to all know . I wish them well as our tourists industry struggles along .

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Finchattum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2019

My wife and I took a two day break here. It is not a typical hotel - e.g. no miniature bottles of grooming aids in the bathroom, no TV or radio (for that you have to go to the Games room, which sports a full size billiards table!) and no tea making facilities - for tea or coffee, you call, they bring, at any time.

The website mentions Internet access but it was not brought to our attention. Cell phone reception is poor in the buildings but is accessible outdoors.

The grounds are beautiful and quite unexpected for this part of Gauteng and our suite was furnished with good quality, old fashioned furniture, dating approx 1950's era or earlier.

The food (three course meals) was good and well prepared with a good menu variety. As mentioned by others, this is a small dairy farm and the cream is unbelievable - it has to be scooped as it is too thick to be poured. They make their own butter and yoghurt as well.

Breakfast (English, not Continental) was standard fare but well prepared.

All in all a relaxing and quality venue but our Suite (#7) is relatively isolated and it would certainly be easy to break into. Security has become such an issue in SA these days that one cannot take it for granted any more.

Room tip: All rooms appear to be good. The Lodge is very quiet - it is in the country, after all.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews