We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
57
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad haven t fresh milk attention to detail terence retreat host farm accommodation cream summer setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

Quiet mountain is a spectacularly beautiful lodge. The setting is magnificent, the accommodation is spotless and comfortable and the food is sublime. They host very few guests at a time and with their no children policy, it is always quiet and peaceful. The service is efficient and unobtrusive. Jon is an engaging host with a wonderful sense of humour.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 755ruthw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Quite mountain is just what it is , a delight to be in the Highveld with views of ancient mountains and ample walking trails, while the summer clouds billow high above you and cool down the heat .

Birdwatchers Haven if your a twitcher , if you enjoy your food then this is for you , home grown salads and ingredients , onsite heard of dairy cows for fresh milk and luxurious cream , silver service dinners and hearty farm breakfasts .

The style of the venue is somewhat eclectic as are the owners , superb staff backing them up with effortless and happy faces .

I’ll be recommending them to all know . I wish them well as our tourists industry struggles along .

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Finchattum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2019

My wife and I took a two day break here. It is not a typical hotel - e.g. no miniature bottles of grooming aids in the bathroom, no TV or radio (for that you have to go to the Games room, which sports a full size billiards table!) and no tea making facilities - for tea or coffee, you call, they bring, at any time.

The website mentions Internet access but it was not brought to our attention. Cell phone reception is poor in the buildings but is accessible outdoors.

The grounds are beautiful and quite unexpected for this part of Gauteng and our suite was furnished with good quality, old fashioned furniture, dating approx 1950's era or earlier.

The food (three course meals) was good and well prepared with a good menu variety. As mentioned by others, this is a small dairy farm and the cream is unbelievable - it has to be scooped as it is too thick to be poured. They make their own butter and yoghurt as well.

Breakfast (English, not Continental) was standard fare but well prepared.

All in all a relaxing and quality venue but our Suite (#7) is relatively isolated and it would certainly be easy to break into. Security has become such an issue in SA these days that one cannot take it for granted any more.

Room tip: All rooms appear to be good. The Lodge is very quiet - it is in the country, after all.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2019

Quiet Mountain is one of our favourite destinations. John and Terence host the most amazing country house. The rooms and suites are of a high standard and the food is absolutely sublime. If you haven’t visited Quiet Mountain you are certainly missing an experience. No children under 12.

Room tip: Suites the best
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2019 via mobile

Frequented over the last ten years, this getaway place - just approximately 1 hour from Jhb - is at every visit a reminder of how empty our lives may have been if we had never discovered it. Peace, beauty, food. What more is needed for a battery restore.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JerisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews