We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
57
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad haven t fresh milk attention to detail terence retreat host farm accommodation cream summer setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2019

My wife and I took a two day break here. It is not a typical hotel - e.g. no miniature bottles of grooming aids in the bathroom, no TV or radio (for that you have to go to the Games room, which sports a full size billiards table!) and no tea making facilities - for tea or coffee, you call, they bring, at any time.

The website mentions Internet access but it was not brought to our attention. Cell phone reception is poor in the buildings but is accessible outdoors.

The grounds are beautiful and quite unexpected for this part of Gauteng and our suite was furnished with good quality, old fashioned furniture, dating approx 1950's era or earlier.

The food (three course meals) was good and well prepared with a good menu variety. As mentioned by others, this is a small dairy farm and the cream is unbelievable - it has to be scooped as it is too thick to be poured. They make their own butter and yoghurt as well.

Breakfast (English, not Continental) was standard fare but well prepared.

All in all a relaxing and quality venue but our Suite (#7) is relatively isolated and it would certainly be easy to break into. Security has become such an issue in SA these days that one cannot take it for granted any more.

Room tip: All rooms appear to be good. The Lodge is very quiet - it is in the country, after all.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2019

Quiet Mountain is one of our favourite destinations. John and Terence host the most amazing country house. The rooms and suites are of a high standard and the food is absolutely sublime. If you haven’t visited Quiet Mountain you are certainly missing an experience. No children under 12.

Room tip: Suites the best
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2019 via mobile

Frequented over the last ten years, this getaway place - just approximately 1 hour from Jhb - is at every visit a reminder of how empty our lives may have been if we had never discovered it. Peace, beauty, food. What more is needed for a battery restore.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JerisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

It’s like entering another world!
The rooms are exquisite, sparkling clean and the owner has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable - from supplying umbrellas, torch, mosquito repellent, candles, heaters, hairdryer, fudge to Dove soap!
Views of the mountains and fields are breathtaking and the beautiful gardens, swimming pool and pond just make one want to get out to spend time with nature again!
Then there is the stunning library and lounge retreat and don’t forget the TV and games room!
I had the best night sleep in ages on a gigantic king-size bed and the early morning coffee was to die for!
Breakfast was sublime - if you get the opportunity, try the poached eggs Royale - two perfectly poached eggs on a bed of smoked salmon, delicious!
Perfect home-made bread - butter, yogurt and butter comes from their own dairy farm!
Dinner was another culinary experience - I had the mouth watering Scottish Salmon!
John, the host, is the heart and soul of the operation and could not do enough for us.
If you want good, old-fashioned service, then Quiet Mountain is all you could ever wish for and more!

Room tip: No 5 has its own private lounge and sunny patio!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1952Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Our weekend away to Quiet Mountain was like taking a trip to visit a relative in the country. Only having a few suites you are ensured absolute privacy and excellent service from host John and his efficient staff. All the suites are homely decorated and large - breakfast and dinner are included in the rates. The meals are top class and made to order - homemade butter and yogurt from the Jersey cows on the farm. There is also a nature walk into the Magalies range which is part of the farm. Nothing is hurried and you have ample time to relax and unwind - there is a games room and thankfully no television in any of the guest suites! Worth a visit for a completely different experience.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews