We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place with a perfect combination of relaxation...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mangrove Inn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argao, Cebu Island, Visayas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

AsiaTrave...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a swamp in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

House is located 2 meters from a busy and noisy highway, so you can learn the Ceres Bus line schedule by heart all night.
The pool did not work when we were there, damaged by the earthquake. It seems the locals enjoys it when there are no guests....
The closest Mall & supermarket is miles away. Home furniture and appliances are Ultra-basic, and used by the "gardian couple" when no guests for weeks.
The worst: the swamp. Impossible access by the land since I got stuck in the mud up to the knee, unable to move further. Sea is brown/dark anyway, and the last thing you want is to swim in it. The beach is 1m wide, made of sharp unstable rocks. Get ready for the mosquitos attacking from the mangroves on both sides, from 6:00 pm each day.
Noisy aircon in the living room which should have been changed in 1980.
As for activities, none, since internet is not working also at the time of our stay.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't find an answer to that one.....
Liked least: see my review. Too many to say.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
Lessons learned from this review is that in the highly unlikely event of an earthquake we will cancel all reservations until we can guarantee all functionality as advertised as well as the safety of our guests.

The road is near Mangrove Inn which is valued by most of our guests. It's easy to get a bus on day time and at night there is hardly any traffic. The beauty and pool are on purpose on the sea side of the house where road noises are minimised and safety is guaranteed. For future development we like to extend a yellow sand beach. The department of environent and natural resources has not permitted that yet.

We are very happy with our staff and so are all our other guests so far. When no guests are there we insist that they use the facility because they deserve it for their work and we believe in better service by happy people. Another advantage is that any possible malfunction comes to light.

All the rest of the review we don’t recognize or is as per description in our advertisement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place with a perfect combination of relaxation and fun!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Mangrove Inn has very spacious airconditioned and fully furnished rooms. It has an amazing infinity pool with lounge areas. It is easily accessible from the city and the best part is it is so close to nature. You can go scuba diving, snorkeling in a marine sanctuary or just exploring the mangrove forest just a few meters from the house. The locals are also very friendly and are very helpful whenever you need assistance. This place will offer you a very memorable and relaxing stay.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Being so close to nature
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter S
Cebu
1 review
“Weekend Warrior”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Staying At Mangrove Inn is like home away from home. It is strategically located because it is along the national road. The area is well-fenced and suitable for group travelers since you are the one renting the whole place. The infinity pool is just perfect after basking the sun with the whalesharks in Oslob just about 15-20 minutes from Mangrove INN. We were able to cook and grill our own food and during night we can sleep better because the place is calm. Everything we need is already in the Mangrove Inn and we will surely comeback for another weekend experience.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It feels like home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from pool and terrace
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bloemenfe...
Asse, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: uitzicht
Liked least: lawaai
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.