We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, peaceful location with stunning views, a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ash Lodge

The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Front of lodge with decking. Back of the lodge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Front of lodge with decking.
Back of the lodge.
Side of lodge with entrance porch.
Front decking overlooking the river - bliss!
Bright, airy lounge with outstanding views all round.
Hallway
Modern kitchen and dining area.
Beautiful oak dining table and chairs.
Twin bedroom with mirrored wardrobe doors.
Double bedroom with en-suite.
View of double bed with luxury pocket sprung mattress topped with memory foam.
Roomy shower with lots of pressure.
Decking catches the sunshine late into the evening.
View from the side decking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kimberley...
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, peaceful location with stunning views, a beautiful place!”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A superb holiday lodge in a beautiful location, Ash Lodge is a home from home. The setting is brilliant right next to the river and as we entered we were pleasantly surprised at how spacious the lodge was. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could possible need. As we have young children it's always a worry staying somewhere different but they loved it and especially the decking area outside which was very safe for them to play on. The key collection was simple and easy on arrival and the owner, David even gave us a welcome call to check that everything was fine and well. Overall, this was a lovely long weekend spent in a perfect location and we would definitely recommend it to others!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
We are delighted that the guests enjoyed their stay in Ash Lodge and appreciate their kind comments. We are especially pleased the children made use of the decking which as mentioned is spacious and safe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taka56201...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accommodation and location”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me, my husband and our two children aged 4 visited the lovely lodge for a long weekend. The accommadtion was excellent, very clean with all the required amenities. David called to see if we were ok, which was nice.

The children had a lovely time. They were really excited when they saw rabbits running across the grass just outside the lodge and also seeing a family of ducks on the river. Also across the river, there were a herd of cows munching on the grass. They also played with their frizzby and rode their bikes. Overall they were happy children.

We visited Shrewsbury and Bishop's castle. The village of clun was really nice with the
local pub just a few minutes walk from the lodge. We also visited a play centre, which was about 5 miles away. Adults could also use the equipment, so we all had a fun time on the big slide and the other obstacles.

It was a relaxing break for us and for the children to be able to run around and see nature.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Glad our guests enjoyed their stay and found so much to do in the area. As they mentioned, the site is great for seeing wildlife and farm animals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
780Julie
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An ideal location for a wonderfully relaxing stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Ash Lodge proved to be an ideal location for a wonderfully relaxing week with Mum and Dad. The facilities met our every need; and we could easily have spent each day watching the river flow peacefully past and enjoy the range of wildlife (we saw 26 different types of birds). It was a perfect base for exploring the local area. we spent many enjoyable hours in Clun, Bishops Castle, Much Wenlock, Ludlow, Shrewsbury, Knighton and Rhyader. excellent supermarket for self-catering at Craven Arms; and lovely pub food in both Clun and Clunton itself. We are eagerly looking forward to visiting again and doing some walking in this lovely area of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views and tranquility of the area.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found so many places of interest to enjoy in the area. We hope you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you were comfortable at the lodge and had all you needed. The riverside location does provide so much interest and we have even seen a heron!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo P
1 review
“And relax........”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent a couple of wonderfully relaxing days in this beautiful and peaceful place.place. The lodge is well-equipped to a very high standard and in a great hidden-away location. The owners have thought of everything you might need. We have come home feeling refreshed.. We hope to be able to stay again and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to choose.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
We are so pleased our guests enjoyed their stay so much. We'd love to welcome them back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing