We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect tropical escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Malvanua Island from the air Free use of kayaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Malvanua Island from the air
Free use of kayaks
Bedrooms have ceiling fans and plenty of screened louvre windows for maximum ventilation.
Your own private beach.
Hammocks, gas BBQ and outside dining table on the deck.
Outside shower so you can rinse off when you come out of the sea.
En suite shower rooms
Turtles nest on the island Nov to Dec, babies hatch mid-late Jan and Feb
We can't guarantee you will see turtles as they nest and hatch at night but they are very cute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luganville, Espiritu Santo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
escape4ev...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect tropical escape”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Malvanua Island Beach House is a magical place - now, looking at the pictures again, I'm feeling homesick for 'our island'. We had a very special time, thanks to the wonderful location and VIP treatment from Torquil and Marianne.
Torquil collected us from the airport late at night because our flight was delayed and the trip on the barge across to the island by moonlight was just the remedy for a day spent at Brisbane airport. The house is very well laid out with each bedroom and its own bathroom on either side of the spacious living area. Marianne and Torquil had also very thoughtfully stocked the fridge with some supplies as our original plan of stopping off at the supermarket and market had fallen by the wayside. It was our first taste of Marianne's great homemade bread - and we were very spoilt with many more loaves over the holiday.
Waking up on our first day on the island, we had to pinch ourselves that we were really there ... the tropical, luxuriant forest tucking us in on both sides and the transparent water beckoning us ... it felt like we were in a story.
Torquil took us over to the mainland to the butcher (delicious fillet and pork chops), then the supermarket and market where we bought the best tasting mandarins and some exotic (for us!) local fruits and veg - he and Frederick made some great recommendations!
The rest of our holiday went by too quickly ... we kayaked up the river to the Blue Hole, snorkelled the reef on the other side of the island (the coral is stunning) and swam in our big 'swimming pool' in front of the house. In the evenings, we sat out and ate at the outside table (crafted from a tree on the island) with food cooked on the outside BBQ and enjoyed the sunset. So peaceful and tranquil and no one else around! It actually rained nearly every day we were there (most unusually), but this did not affect our enjoyment in any way.
Torquil and Marianne were amazing - so thoughtful and kind throughout our stay, I can't thank them enough! We especially appreciated their support on our last day when our flight was delayed, following up with Air Vanuatu, and making it all far less stressful for us.
All in all, a truly wonderful experience and we can't wait for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - location, wonderful hosts, peace and privacy
Liked least: Our holiday ending!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nv_ByTheS...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like having your own private island”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking for somewhere to get away from it all, to relax, unwind, sway in a hammock & swim, this is the place! Peaceful, private & secluded, there was nothing better than waking up & going for a swim literally a few steps away. The owners Marianne & Torqui were really, really lovely. They live over on the other side & couldn't have done anything more to make us feel at home - stocking a few supplies for us as we arrived in the evening, and Marianne baked us the most delicious bread! Torq took us into town the next day for food shopping and even then offered to go for us if we wanted to just give him a list & stay on the island.
We went to relax, but there were plenty of activities for us. We went on a horse ride which Marianne organised & Torq transported us to & other tours were available if we wanted. The island has free use of kayaks which enabled us to explore nearby areas including the famous 'Blue Hole'. Although it was a hard task to get to as we were kayaking against the tide, was well worth it when we finally arrived! We were also lucky enough that Marianne and Torq showed us baby turtles that had just hatched and we watched in awe as they made their way to the sea to start their life adventures. As it was Malvanua's first ever turtle hatching it was pretty special to have been a part of it.
On the rainy day we stayed in and watched movies, played scrabble & read books so even that was relaxing. The house was new, clean, surrounded with fly screen & had all cooking equipment that was needed. Beautiful outdoor table (i think Torq had made himself!) on the deck which was perfect to watch the sunset. One day we went for lunch at the nearby Oyster Island so there are options too if you dont want to cook every time. We had such an amazing 5 days. I really could keep raving on about how fantastic Malvanua is and the hospitality of Marianne and Torquil. I hope to be back again, it really was like having your own private island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco V
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise indeed...”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
6
people found this review helpful

It will most likely sound like a cliché, to call an island in the South Pacific as "Paradise", but to be honest it's difficult to come up with another word that will do justice to Malvanua... it's paradise indeed.

Me and my family spent 12 days at the island and it was the highlight of a 2 month trip. I was aiming to return to this part of the world since I visited Fiji in 2004 and didn't know anything about Vanuatu, let alone Santo or Malvanua island of course.

Because we were travelling with two young kids (4 and 1), the initial idea was to stay at a resort that would help us "manage" such attention-grabbing creatures, having someone else deal with the meals and eventually a baby-sitter so the parents could "relax in paradise". This was the initial idea of returning to Fiji, but we found extremely high prices for all-inclusive deals.

So we thought let's thing of something else...

Cue Vanuatu.

A shorter flight, cheaper, more of a roots feel. Oh, and an island for ourselves! It couldn't be more different than what we were aiming for (an all-inclusive resort), but then again you can find all-inclusive resorts pretty much anywhere, and for any budget, so maybe this made much more sense. At the same time it's like a fantasy that you always have dreamt of, which is to be alone on an island for a certain period of time, whether living or spending holiday. So we changed our initial plan, contacted the owners, booked 12 days and that was it.

Being a parent, and having planned of a resort in Fiji, I think that it's important to have given you this background information, because you may be a parent yourself planning on such a holiday with your kids, and you may wonder if it's the right decision or not, when considering a completely different holiday. Trust me, it is. Of course if you don't have infants travelling with you, just raise paradise to PARADISE. ;)

We were welcomed by Torq at the airport, along with some light tropical rain, and immediately you could feel the island vibe all around you. A quick stop at the local vegetable and fruit market and we were on our way. Remember, you're living your next days on a private island all by yourself, so you have to guarantee supplies, which you can do on arrival or you may arrange with Torq/Marianne so they can do the shopping for you. Personally, I always like to visit local markets as much as possible, and in this case we went back twice, which was great.

The market... I have been in several parts of Asia, Africa and South America, but I can honestly say this has got to be one of the most amazing open-air markets ever. It's not the dimension nor the variety, but it's definitely the quality and the welcoming feel. Being seasonal, you're likely to find different stuff, so we had pineapple, coconut, mango, paw paw, banana, cooking banana, passion fruit, so the fresh fruit cocktails started to make our to-do list immediately. Along with fruit, you had an array of vegetables, from different types of sweet potato (kumara), to green beans, tomatoes and so on. You can also go to the butchers and get some meat/eggs, which we did. Santo has one of the best beef in the world. It's really tasty.

You may also shop at a supermarket for drinks and pretty much everything else, specially imported goods and stuff that you won't find on the veggie market.

The island of Malvanua is a short drive away, along a relaxed road lined with coconut trees, and as soon as you get there you are hit with a postcard. Yes, those paradise luxuriously green chunks of land surrounded by crystal clear blue water... We were stunned.

When I say luxuriously green I mean gorgeous trees and heavy vegetation, just a beautiful setting, so vibrant and relaxed...

When you get to the island you can't believe how right your decision was. Maybe you've been to islands before, there's plenty as everyone knows, but this one is certainly different. First of, it's yours. Yes, no bungalows, no dinner areas, no other guest beside yourself.

Second, the house is beautiful. Extremely well built, with all the amenities you could wish for, spacious, clean, every opening protected with mosquito net, two rooms with toilet and shower, an equipped kitchen (microwave, oven, huge fridge, toaster, etc) with a set of professional utensils. When I mean professional I mean strong durable pans and pots, which if you cook you know the difference and joy of preparing meals with quality utensils, which is something that owners do not pay much attention to, which is clearly the opposite with Torq and Marianne. This is a couple who pays attention to details and makes sure that you have everything you need to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. That includes a freshly backed loaf of bread every couple of days (fantastic!) and fresh eggs from the island, along with some other basic stuff that help your cook going (oil, salt, pepper, etc).

You don't need to worry about drinking water because there's a filtered tap, and that works out perfectly for your needs, including ice making for those cocktails.

There's an outdoor area in front of the house where you may have your meals, looking at the sea and the sunset.

There's also an excellent grill where we prepared meat and fish, it's perfect.

You have kayaks at your disposal so that you may explore the island(s) and the reef. We used them all the time with the kids and they loved it.

The evenings are as quiet as you can imagine, sleeping with the softest ocean sounds, the relaxing nature all around you...

There are reasons that may want you to leave the island, such as the blue hole on a nearby river or a lunch at a neighbour island resort restaurant (we did both), but beyond that we didn't see the point of abandoning paradise to visit other stuff. We felt attached to this place and we had extremely happy and relaxed days. Warm water at our doorstep (I mean the kind of temperature that you just love); an idyllic stretch of white sand some meters away (you may swim or kayak there); a gorgeous healthy reef to snorkel at (I saw turtles, lots of fish); and of course a visit to Torq and Marianne, your unique guests, that always welcome you with a smile, happy to chat about stuff and help you with anything that you may need.

At one point my wife decided to reveal that she had prepared a wedding ceremony for us, and that was of course very special and added to our island experience, and Torq even crafted our wedding rings, which was very thoughtful and kind.

We had the opportunity to approach local fishermen who pass the island every couple of days so I bought three fresh fish which was one of our meal highlights, specially if grilled on that barbecue at your disposal.

Days went by, starting early in the morning, with fantastic warm sunny weather and never ending swims with the kids, playing with sea stars, hermit crabs and fish that came to swim close to you.

We also walked around the island for there's a path for that, which is very interesting to do and explore.

As our holiday came to an end, we didn't feel sad but fortunate to have found such a precious paradise on earth, owned by an amazing couple who really know how to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

This is a unique experience which we strongly recommend to any family/couple/friends that have the possibility to visit the South Pacific. You won't regret it.

This was "our" amazing Malvanua experience...

The best holiday ever!
Marco and Cláudia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Hosts, Location, House
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here over the new year and had an amazing time. We'd just come from Malekula, so the comfortable bed and warm showers, combined with the icy cold beer prestocked in the fridge made it feel like heaven. The owners looked after us tremendously well and they could not have been more welcoming - whilst at the same time ensuring we had all the privacy we wanted. We used the provided sea kayaks to paddle across the nearby blue hole one afternoon which was a blast. Will be recommending the island to both family and friends and hope to be back soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren375
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly solitude”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We (a couple) stayed a week in May at Malvanua Island Beach House and absolutely loved it. We stayed at Port Vila prior to our holiday and were pleasantly surprised that Santo is quite different from Port Vila with much less traffic and air pollution from ancient cars. We were picked up from the airport by Torquil who took us to the shops and market before going to the beach house so we could do all the food shopping there and then. The beach house is on a small private island not far from the main island Santo with no other house on the island except for the owners. Their house is on the other side of the island (which you don't see or hear). The beach house is spacious and very clean and functional with 2 bedrooms (with en-suite bathrooms) separated by a good sized lounge/kitchen/open space living area. That makes it ideal for a family with kids or 2 couples and plenty of space for just one couple. The owners are absolutely lovely and did everything they could to make our stay so wonderful. We were even given freshly (home) baked bread which was delicious and when the bread was finished Marianne would bake us another fresh one. The owners also have some animals, fruit trees and a herbal garden, so we were provided with fresh eggs, fruits and herbs also, resulting in fresh and delicious food throughout our stay. If we needed to go for food shopping, Torquil would take us to Luganville to go to the shops and market. Choices are limited, but there is usually beef which is absolutely delicious.
The best thing about Malvanua Island Beach house is the absence of neighbours which makes this house absolutely peaceful and quiet. It is the ideal place to unwind and recharge your batteries. There is only the beach, the sea and the house and no one to disturb your solitude. The beach is fantastic for swimming as there are no corals. You can also go snorkeling to the other side of the island where there are plenty of corals. There are also 2 kayaks for free usage. If the weather is bad, there is a DVD player in the house and plenty of books. We spent most days just relaxing and only went swimming 2-3 times a day despite the fact we are usually quite active people. However, this place was so inviting just to stay put and do nothing else but relax in the sun and watch the beautiful sunset that we did just that for most days. There were hardly any mosquitoes which made relaxing with a book on the veranda a real pleasure. We would have loved to stay another week. For us this was true paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quietness
Liked least: To leave the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
We really enjoyed meeting you both and glad you enjoyed Malvanua - many thanks for taking the time to do a review as I know you have been busy since you got back. Time for another holiday?????!
Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing