We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Hawklee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawklee Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I was extremely impressed with the welcome I received and the overall stay. I took a wrong turn getting to Hawklee and Belinda and Dean directed me for 20km to their front door in order to make it in time for a wedding. Beautiful room and great breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C7303KQshaunm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Shaun
We were so happy you made the wedding. Thanks for being such a terrific guests. Dean and I hope next time you will stay longer and thank you for the lovely compliments on our rooms and decor. Till next time
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We had a lovely stay. Beautiful rooms and stunning location on the river. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely recommend Hawklee Country House and we will come again. Thank you once more..

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L4561XGmarcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi marcc
Thank you for taking time to review Hawklee and your stay. We certainly enjoyed you staying with us and look forward to seeing you at Hawklee in the future'
Regards
Dean and Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed overnight at Hawklee as we had a function nearby. We were welcomed so warmly and our room was cosy and comfortable. We didn't opt for breakfast so cannot comment to that but would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank larad874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Good day larad874
Dean and I are so glad you had a good night in the room and found it comfortable. We hope you will join us for breakfast in the future
regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I had not been to Hawklee's in 11 years since my honeymoon. Then we stayed in Guinea Fowl Cottage and thought it was great, this time we stayed in Mallard Cottage and this exceeded our expectation! Dean and Belinda were great hosts and catered for our every need. The cottage was big and spacious and most luxurious. The spa bath and four poster bed were highlights.
I highly recommend this as a venue for a romantic break!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi Michael

Thank you for coming to Hawklee again to celebrating your anniversary. We loved hosting you both and glad you had a good time in the Honeymoon Cottage. The spa bath is a great place to relax in and enjoy your celebration
regards
Belinda @ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

What an amazingly special place Hawklee Country House is, it has the most gorgeous views of the beautiful Lions River and gardens, exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts Dean and Belinda, including their fur kids Misha and Tigger. We stayed in the Mallard Cottage which was beautifully situated, wonderfully decorated, neat and clean. The food was outstanding, Belinda really knows how to cook! Overall a stunning place for a romantic getaway, we will most certainly be back soon ;) Thanks so much again Dean and Belinda.

Kind Regards
Sean and Kate MacFarlane

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 821katet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Sean and Kate
Hawklee is certainly a special place with views. Dean and I loved hosting you both and thank you for the lovely comments about my food. We are so pleased your romantic get-a-way was so enjoyed. We hope you don't wait too long to come back again
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
15.2 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
212 reviews
17.5 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
102 reviews
28.7 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
375 reviews
0.4 km away
Whispering Waters
Whispering Waters
#1 of 3 in Fort Nottingham
150 reviews
15.6 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawklee Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R1 023 - R1 647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing