We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Romantic visit to the Midlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawklee Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017

My Husband and I wanted a romantic stop over in the Midlands, and Hawklee Country House delivered. Dean is very keen to help you plan your excursions in the area, which is useful as there is so much to see. The spa-bath (Jacuzzi) was a real treat and helped us warm-up in the icy winter. The breakfast was well done and we thoroughly enjoyed our walk across the premises. This is a great place to hide-away from the city and to enjoy the noisy silence of the country, with singing birds and bubbling brooks to calm and soothe the soul.

Room Tip: Guinea Fowl Cottage is the most secluded/private, but still a short walk to the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HoppingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Good day HoppingH
Lovely to have had you come stay at Hawklee. Thank you for the compliments on our food as we do try and produce great fresh food. Hawklee is certainly a place to relax and we are so pleased you could do this.
regards
Dean and Belinad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Brilliant, kind and amazing service. Beautiful rooms and great food with great advice on the best way to experience the area. Belinda and Dean truly make you feel welcome with a great sense of humor and going the extra mile attitude. Will always make a stop over on our way to Durban to really get us in the holiday mood.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nickdX3683DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Hi Nick
It was such a lovely weekend with you both. Thanks for visiting Hawklee for the long weekend and for all the laughs. We had a great time. Glad we will see you again, hopefully soon
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Hawklee Lodge is a real gem to use as a base from which to explore the Midland Meander. The hosts Belinda and Dean went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The chalet,is luxurious, the food was excellent and the chats round the fireplace made you feel at home. The best chalet is the honeymoon chalet at the far left end of the chalets. WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HenkJ717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Good day HenkJ717
Thank you for the lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you both come stay with us and certainly hope you will be back
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Scenic views from all the cottages. We have stayed in the Owl cottage with excellent views over the river below. The cottage is very spacious and can accommodate a family with 2 small children.
The deck is ideal to sit and relax for a sun-downer and just to absorb the scenic environment. The hosts were spot on with their advice on restaurants and amenities. Would definitely visit them during summer.
The cottages compare well to four star ratings

Room Tip: The Owl is excellent value for maoney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marnewick_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Good day Marnewick_JP
The Owl cottage certainly has the best view from the Spa bath . Dean and I are glad you enjoyed the resturants suggested and you had a good time in the Midlands exploring. Summer at Hawklee is beautiful with the different color greens and a sight to behold. Till we see you with your summer visit
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

road gravel withput lights
place very quiet and peaceful
area beautiful
good location
good food and dinner options at place
hosts very helpful and made an effort to aid with plans and orders
rooms very big and nice hottab

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shalon2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Good day Shalon2711
Thank you for staying at Hawklee and enjoying the area so much. Dean and I loved hosting you and hope to see you back at Hawklee in the future. Glad all our suggestions and places to visit all worked out
Regards
dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
15.2 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
221 reviews
37.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
244 reviews
10.9 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
137 reviews
11.3 km away
Waterwoods
Waterwoods
#2 of 3 in Fort Nottingham
42 reviews
11.4 km away
Notting Hill Lodge
Notting Hill Lodge
#2 of 8 in Balgowan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawklee Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R980 - R1 666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing