We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Scenic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawklee Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Scenic views from all the cottages. We have stayed in the Owl cottage with excellent views over the river below. The cottage is very spacious and can accommodate a family with 2 small children.
The deck is ideal to sit and relax for a sun-downer and just to absorb the scenic environment. The hosts were spot on with their advice on restaurants and amenities. Would definitely visit them during summer.
The cottages compare well to four star ratings

Room Tip: The Owl is excellent value for maoney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marnewick_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Good day Marnewick_JP
The Owl cottage certainly has the best view from the Spa bath . Dean and I are glad you enjoyed the resturants suggested and you had a good time in the Midlands exploring. Summer at Hawklee is beautiful with the different color greens and a sight to behold. Till we see you with your summer visit
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017

road gravel withput lights
place very quiet and peaceful
area beautiful
good location
good food and dinner options at place
hosts very helpful and made an effort to aid with plans and orders
rooms very big and nice hottab

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shalon2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Good day Shalon2711
Thank you for staying at Hawklee and enjoying the area so much. Dean and I loved hosting you and hope to see you back at Hawklee in the future. Glad all our suggestions and places to visit all worked out
Regards
dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Hawklee. Just what hubby and I needed to unwind and relax. Great location. Peaceful and quiet. Food was delicious. Room was very clean and tidy. Belinda and Dean are excellent hosts. Hats off to them and their staff.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zohra491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hi Zohra
Thank you for coming to Hawklee and celebrating your occasion. It was so lovely hosting you both and look forward to you visiting us for longer in the future. Thank you for all the kind comments and the staff are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stayed at Hawklee Lodge for our first anniversary. From arrival to departure, we were treated phenomenally by Belinda and Dean and all of their staff. We arrived to rose petals on our bed with fluffy soft gowns that kept us warm all weekend. Our room was clean and homely. We only ate dinner at Hawklee on the first night but that was only due to us wanting to try all the restaurants in the area. The food was amazing and completely delicious. Breakfast each day was a true feast and prepared with such a personal touch, right down to us receiving Easter Eggs on Easter Sunday! We would recommend Hawklee Lodge to anybody wishing to visit Nottingham Road and look forward to seeing everyone at Hawklee again!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicoledZ6839JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hi Nicole

Thank you for the kind compliments as we all do try and deliver a superior service and food. Thank you for enjoying your time at Hawklee and the Midlands as there is so much to keep you occupied in the Midlands. Easter is always such fun with Easter eggs and thank you for enjoying it all. Till next time
Regards
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We stayed for one night during our annual road trip - this year 40 nights in 11 properties, so this review is relatively objective.

The owners were welcoming and informative without being intrusive.

Tremendous location in very pleasant grounds overlooking a rushing stream/river in the valley below - by below meaning literally a stones throw from the buildings.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Cottage (!) which was the last chalet/cottage in the row overlooking the river. Clean, very spacious and well equipped, with a comfortable bed. Going to sleep/awaking to the sound of the river is something magical.

The restaurant and bar were charming and full of character. Dinner and breakfast were both to a very high standard, obviously being freshly prepared. A bonus was that our dinner service was delayed to allow me to watch a Six Nations rugby game in the bar !

We only stayed one night, but this would be an excellent base for exploring the Midlands.

Wifi in the public areas was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Hi Joe

Many thanks for making Hawklee a stop over for your trip. Thank you for the kind compliments and enjoying the Country House. We hope on a return trip we will see you again
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
15.2 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
212 reviews
17.5 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
102 reviews
28.7 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
375 reviews
0.4 km away
Whispering Waters
Whispering Waters
#1 of 3 in Fort Nottingham
150 reviews
15.6 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawklee Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R1 023 - R1 647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing