We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawklee Country House
Nearby Hotels
Gowrie Farm Golf Lodge(Nottingham Road)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nottingham Road Hotel(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$237
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterford Manor(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thatchings Guest House(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rawdons Hotel & Estate(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loxley House(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bend Country House(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
147
66
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
66
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverspa bathmallard cottageexcellent hostsmashie golfbird lifeguinea fowlmidlands meanderlast minute bookingromantic weekendfood was amazinglovely roombeautiful surroundingsexcellent staythe cottagesenjoyed our stayguest house
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We stayed for one night during our annual road trip - this year 40 nights in 11 properties, so this review is relatively objective.

The owners were welcoming and informative without being intrusive.

Tremendous location in very pleasant grounds overlooking a rushing stream/river in the valley below - by below meaning literally a stones throw from the buildings.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Cottage (!) which was the last chalet/cottage in the row overlooking the river. Clean, very spacious and well equipped, with a comfortable bed. Going to sleep/awaking to the sound of the river is something magical.

The restaurant and bar were charming and full of character. Dinner and breakfast were both to a very high standard, obviously being freshly prepared. A bonus was that our dinner service was delayed to allow me to watch a Six Nations rugby game in the bar !

We only stayed one night, but this would be an excellent base for exploring the Midlands.

Wifi in the public areas was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Hi Joe

Many thanks for making Hawklee a stop over for your trip. Thank you for the kind compliments and enjoying the Country House. We hope on a return trip we will see you again
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Great accommodation! Excellent food! Wonderful atmosphere! We stayed over for the Easter weekend and were impressed by the scenery, attention to detail and hospitality. We would highly recommend this to family and friends!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Phillip

Thank you for enjoying our hospitality. Dean and I loved hosting you and look forward to a return visit from you both
Regards
Belinda@ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Perfect place for a weekend brake away from home! Wonderful view and friendly professional service! Almost like a second home! Close to Midlands Meander which make day trips ideal. Safe and clean accommodation. Personal service from owner/managers!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 27zeldac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Zelda
Thank you for making the weekend so enjoyable. You became a true friend over the weekend and it was so lovely hosting you. Dean and I hope the next visit will be soon
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I made a very last minute booking and from assisting me with the booking till Sunday checking out a little bit later, our entire experience was very very special. The owners and hosts made us feel so very welcome, love the small and quaint pub, the food was extremely good and home cooked. Excellent selection every night, breakfast good and more than enough tp see you through the day. Thank you Dean and Belinda for a very relaxing weekend, attention to small details for our room and going out of your way to make our visit very special. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilnaventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you for having such a lovely time at Hawklee. Dean and I invite you into our home to enjoy it with us and love it when you have fun. The bar called the "Leopards Lair" is definitely a meeting place for all. I am so pleased you enjoyed my food selection as we cook everything fresh. Hawklee is a place to relax and unwind and we are so pleased this was achieved. Dean and I hope to see you back at Hawklee in the future
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Fantastic place to stay. Lovely hosts. We went to a wedding nearby and stayed here for the weekend. Beautiful views out the bedroom window of the relaxing rushing river which you can hear when you step outside. Environment conscious. Wish we could have stayed longer! (Be careful of the spa bath if you go off peak season. The spray nozzles had old water in them in our bath.)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryLoverZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for enjoying your stay at Hawklee country house and appreciating the beauty of the surroundings. Hopefully next time you can spend longer here and go for the lovely walks. Till we see you again in the not too distant future we hope
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews