We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream First Anniversary Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawklee Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stayed at Hawklee Lodge for our first anniversary. From arrival to departure, we were treated phenomenally by Belinda and Dean and all of their staff. We arrived to rose petals on our bed with fluffy soft gowns that kept us warm all weekend. Our room was clean and homely. We only ate dinner at Hawklee on the first night but that was only due to us wanting to try all the restaurants in the area. The food was amazing and completely delicious. Breakfast each day was a true feast and prepared with such a personal touch, right down to us receiving Easter Eggs on Easter Sunday! We would recommend Hawklee Lodge to anybody wishing to visit Nottingham Road and look forward to seeing everyone at Hawklee again!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicoledZ6839JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hi Nicole

Thank you for the kind compliments as we all do try and deliver a superior service and food. Thank you for enjoying your time at Hawklee and the Midlands as there is so much to keep you occupied in the Midlands. Easter is always such fun with Easter eggs and thank you for enjoying it all. Till next time
Regards
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017

We stayed for one night during our annual road trip - this year 40 nights in 11 properties, so this review is relatively objective.

The owners were welcoming and informative without being intrusive.

Tremendous location in very pleasant grounds overlooking a rushing stream/river in the valley below - by below meaning literally a stones throw from the buildings.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Cottage (!) which was the last chalet/cottage in the row overlooking the river. Clean, very spacious and well equipped, with a comfortable bed. Going to sleep/awaking to the sound of the river is something magical.

The restaurant and bar were charming and full of character. Dinner and breakfast were both to a very high standard, obviously being freshly prepared. A bonus was that our dinner service was delayed to allow me to watch a Six Nations rugby game in the bar !

We only stayed one night, but this would be an excellent base for exploring the Midlands.

Wifi in the public areas was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Hi Joe

Many thanks for making Hawklee a stop over for your trip. Thank you for the kind compliments and enjoying the Country House. We hope on a return trip we will see you again
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Great accommodation! Excellent food! Wonderful atmosphere! We stayed over for the Easter weekend and were impressed by the scenery, attention to detail and hospitality. We would highly recommend this to family and friends!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Phillip

Thank you for enjoying our hospitality. Dean and I loved hosting you and look forward to a return visit from you both
Regards
Belinda@ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Perfect place for a weekend brake away from home! Wonderful view and friendly professional service! Almost like a second home! Close to Midlands Meander which make day trips ideal. Safe and clean accommodation. Personal service from owner/managers!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 27zeldac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Zelda
Thank you for making the weekend so enjoyable. You became a true friend over the weekend and it was so lovely hosting you. Dean and I hope the next visit will be soon
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I made a very last minute booking and from assisting me with the booking till Sunday checking out a little bit later, our entire experience was very very special. The owners and hosts made us feel so very welcome, love the small and quaint pub, the food was extremely good and home cooked. Excellent selection every night, breakfast good and more than enough tp see you through the day. Thank you Dean and Belinda for a very relaxing weekend, attention to small details for our room and going out of your way to make our visit very special. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilnaventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you for having such a lovely time at Hawklee. Dean and I invite you into our home to enjoy it with us and love it when you have fun. The bar called the "Leopards Lair" is definitely a meeting place for all. I am so pleased you enjoyed my food selection as we cook everything fresh. Hawklee is a place to relax and unwind and we are so pleased this was achieved. Dean and I hope to see you back at Hawklee in the future
Regards
Belinda@Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham Road hotels
15,2 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
226 reviews
17,5 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
120 reviews
10,5 km away
The Bend Country House
The Bend Country House
#11 of 17 in Nottingham Road
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16,8 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
139 reviews
10,9 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
394 reviews
10,2 km away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#5 of 17 in Nottingham Road
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawklee Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R1 143 - R1 831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing