We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$151
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gowrie Farm Golf Lodge(Nottingham Road)
US$146
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thatchings Guest House(Nottingham Road)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Nottingham Road Hotel(Nottingham Road)
US$99
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bend Country House(Nottingham Road)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Rawdons Hotel & Estate(Nottingham Road)
US$122
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterford Manor(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loxley House(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
148
67
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
67
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverspa bathexcellent hostsmallard cottagegentle strollguinea fowlmidlands meanderlast minute bookingexcellent staylovely roomrestaurants in the areaanniversary weekendhome cookedfood was amazingpeaceful surroundingsthe cottagesgreat accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Best Midlands trip thus far, excellent welcome by the Hosts, made us feel at home from the very first minute. The very best in Midlands. The meals were superb and the sound of the river is the most calming ever.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D7752DCjasong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Good day Jason

Thank you for the kind reviews. We do always try and give our guests a unique experience and thank you for enjoying the food and Hawklee so much. Dean and I hope to see you return soon
Regards
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed a weekend at Hawklee. The place is definitely in need of some TLC. Chairs in the room felt like the springs were going to come thru and do some rear end damage, plastic basin with loose taps, basically very ordinary. We didnt eat, there was some kid running loose in the dining room so decided to breakfast elsewhere. Unfortunate as the area and setting is very peaceful and was what we were after but really - the bath in the rooms gotta go! Very 80's and not really an attraction.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sacit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Good day Sacit

Thank you for sharing your input with us. I see from all your previous comments of places you have frequented that you demand a very high standard. We apologies if you had some discomfort while sitting and encourage all guests to share immediately with us so we can change chairs for you. You came in on a reduced special of 50% and booked Room only and NO breakfast. Had we known you would of liked breakfast we would of accommodated you immediately. Hawklee is a family destination as well and apologies if there was a toddler running around a bit, but we do attempt to accommodate all families and would of assisted you in eating on our lovely deck away from any noise if you had asked. We are a 3 star establishment and perhaps you had required a 5 Star but then of course would of paid far more for the room. We trust we have addressed your points and thank you once again for raising them. Regards The Hawklee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We very much enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of the Guest House, with the stream running by and an agreeable garden through which to walk. The room was fine, the food good and Dean and Belinda were especially helpful when assisting us try and resolve a problem on our forward journey which cropped up unexpectedly. Thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Peter

You were such a delightful couple and we loved hosting you. We are very happy your your plans worked out and it was our pleasure to help you. Till next time
Regards
Belinda and Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The country house is beautifully positioned on the Lions River and you go to sleep to the fabulous sound of the river. We stayed in a lovely room with a deck and spa bath. The breakfast was great and the hosts lovely. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patrickrA4854WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Good day Patrick
Thank you for spending your breakaway at Hawklee country House. The river is really pumping now after the rain so the sound is like a roar and just lulls one into a peaceful atmosphere. Dean and I hope we will see you at Hawklee in the future
Regards
Deana and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Somewhat disappointing as fishing advertised on website. However no fly fishing at facility. Accommodation comfortable. Meals, dinner somewhat pricey. A entities outstanding. Lovely quiet accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Good day Jenny

Thank you for your valued contribution on your stay at Hawklee. Yes we do offer fishing and do not charge for the use of the river. We do advertise to bring your own rods ect as we do not keep a supply and are sorry if you were disappointed. We apololgies if you felt a 3 course meal with homemade bread and a lot of love and care with large portions were a bit pricey at R 255 pp plus filter coffee and tea and think you will find a 3 course meal much dearer elsewhere. We hope you will sample our fair next time so you can enjoy the experience and make a valued contribution. Thank you for spending the weekend with us. Dean and I enjoyed your company
Regards
Belinda @ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews