We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawklee Country House
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rawdons Hotel & Estate(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gowrie Farm Golf Lodge(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterford Manor(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nottingham Road Hotel(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thatchings Guest House(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bend Country House(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Loxley House(Nottingham Road)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
147
66
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
66
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverspa bathmallard cottageexcellent hostsmashie golfbird lifeguinea fowlmidlands meanderlast minute bookingromantic weekendfood was amazinglovely roombeautiful surroundingsexcellent staythe cottagesenjoyed our stayguest house
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The country house is beautifully positioned on the Lions River and you go to sleep to the fabulous sound of the river. We stayed in a lovely room with a deck and spa bath. The breakfast was great and the hosts lovely. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patrickrA4854WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Good day Patrick
Thank you for spending your breakaway at Hawklee country House. The river is really pumping now after the rain so the sound is like a roar and just lulls one into a peaceful atmosphere. Dean and I hope we will see you at Hawklee in the future
Regards
Deana and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Somewhat disappointing as fishing advertised on website. However no fly fishing at facility. Accommodation comfortable. Meals, dinner somewhat pricey. A entities outstanding. Lovely quiet accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Good day Jenny

Thank you for your valued contribution on your stay at Hawklee. Yes we do offer fishing and do not charge for the use of the river. We do advertise to bring your own rods ect as we do not keep a supply and are sorry if you were disappointed. We apololgies if you felt a 3 course meal with homemade bread and a lot of love and care with large portions were a bit pricey at R 255 pp plus filter coffee and tea and think you will find a 3 course meal much dearer elsewhere. We hope you will sample our fair next time so you can enjoy the experience and make a valued contribution. Thank you for spending the weekend with us. Dean and I enjoyed your company
Regards
Belinda @ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Hawklee. Stayed in a lovely room with a beautiful view. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Explored the Midlands and was given some great tips by Dean and Belinda. The stay was just too short.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ulandi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Unlandi

It was our pleasure to help you navigate your way around the Midlands and when you have such lovely guests it makes it so easy and we love it. Dean and I are glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you soon back in the Midlands at Hawklee country House
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Hawklee Country House is situated along the beautiful Lions River. The views are breathtaking, the hosts were super friendly and helpful. The setting was one of tranquility, harmonious and super peaceful. The birdlife was out of this world, with lush green surroundings that was home to beautiful old trees. The cascades were stunning. Lots to love here!

Room Tip: all rooms seem to share the amazing views. Ive been told that the Rose Cottage is something else.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Delaine
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Hawklee. It takes a very special person to sense the love and care of a place and you were that couple. You are so right with the Birdlife we are a birders paradise with a huge variety of birds. Dean and I loved hosting you both and are happy we could share our love of Hawklee with you. Till next time at Hawklee
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Hawklee Country House sits on the banks of the Lions River in the Midlands of Kwazulunatal.Our chalet was overlooking the river and the view was soothing to the soul.An excellent stress free getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the city.The hosts are friendly and welcoming.Rooms very clean and tidy.Tea, coffee and milk at your disposal. You can take a walk to the river and chill.The sounds of birds and gushing of the river gives you serenity.Loved our getaway and hope to go back.Thanks to the hosts.

Room Tip: Enchanting views
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Doraty

Thank you for taking the time to share your delight with your time spent at Hawklee Country House. It is definitely the best place to be to get rid of the stress of life. We felt it when we walked through the doors onto the deck and saw the river. The peace enters your soul and uplifts your being to allow you to cope with all life has to offer. Hawklee is a special place for a retreat or just a relaxing time spent by the river to rejeuvinate your soul. Dean and I hope to see you back at Hawklee soon
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews