We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawklee Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The country house is beautifully positioned on the Lions River and you go to sleep to the fabulous sound of the river. We stayed in a lovely room with a deck and spa bath. The breakfast was great and the hosts lovely. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patrickrA4854WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Good day Patrick
Thank you for spending your breakaway at Hawklee country House. The river is really pumping now after the rain so the sound is like a roar and just lulls one into a peaceful atmosphere. Dean and I hope we will see you at Hawklee in the future
Regards
Deana and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

Somewhat disappointing as fishing advertised on website. However no fly fishing at facility. Accommodation comfortable. Meals, dinner somewhat pricey. A entities outstanding. Lovely quiet accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Good day Jenny

Thank you for your valued contribution on your stay at Hawklee. Yes we do offer fishing and do not charge for the use of the river. We do advertise to bring your own rods ect as we do not keep a supply and are sorry if you were disappointed. We apololgies if you felt a 3 course meal with homemade bread and a lot of love and care with large portions were a bit pricey at R 255 pp plus filter coffee and tea and think you will find a 3 course meal much dearer elsewhere. We hope you will sample our fair next time so you can enjoy the experience and make a valued contribution. Thank you for spending the weekend with us. Dean and I enjoyed your company
Regards
Belinda @ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Hawklee. Stayed in a lovely room with a beautiful view. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Explored the Midlands and was given some great tips by Dean and Belinda. The stay was just too short.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ulandi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Unlandi

It was our pleasure to help you navigate your way around the Midlands and when you have such lovely guests it makes it so easy and we love it. Dean and I are glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you soon back in the Midlands at Hawklee country House
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Hawklee Country House is situated along the beautiful Lions River. The views are breathtaking, the hosts were super friendly and helpful. The setting was one of tranquility, harmonious and super peaceful. The birdlife was out of this world, with lush green surroundings that was home to beautiful old trees. The cascades were stunning. Lots to love here!

Room Tip: all rooms seem to share the amazing views. Ive been told that the Rose Cottage is something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Delaine
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Hawklee. It takes a very special person to sense the love and care of a place and you were that couple. You are so right with the Birdlife we are a birders paradise with a huge variety of birds. Dean and I loved hosting you both and are happy we could share our love of Hawklee with you. Till next time at Hawklee
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Hawklee Country House sits on the banks of the Lions River in the Midlands of Kwazulunatal.Our chalet was overlooking the river and the view was soothing to the soul.An excellent stress free getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the city.The hosts are friendly and welcoming.Rooms very clean and tidy.Tea, coffee and milk at your disposal. You can take a walk to the river and chill.The sounds of birds and gushing of the river gives you serenity.Loved our getaway and hope to go back.Thanks to the hosts.

Room Tip: Enchanting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Doraty

Thank you for taking the time to share your delight with your time spent at Hawklee Country House. It is definitely the best place to be to get rid of the stress of life. We felt it when we walked through the doors onto the deck and saw the river. The peace enters your soul and uplifts your being to allow you to cope with all life has to offer. Hawklee is a special place for a retreat or just a relaxing time spent by the river to rejeuvinate your soul. Dean and I hope to see you back at Hawklee soon
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
15.2 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
222 reviews
37.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
244 reviews
10.9 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
137 reviews
11.3 km away
Waterwoods
Waterwoods
#2 of 3 in Fort Nottingham
42 reviews
10.5 km away
The Bend
The Bend
#11 of 17 in Nottingham Road
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawklee Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R997 - R1 685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing