We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thatchings Guest House(Nottingham Road)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Nottingham Road Hotel(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$108
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rawdons Hotel & Estate(Nottingham Road)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$327
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gowrie Farm Golf Lodge(Nottingham Road)
US$159
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bend Country House(Nottingham Road)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Little Milton Bed & Breakfast(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
148
66
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
66
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverspa bathmallard cottageexcellent hostspicnic basketmashie golfbird lifeguinea fowlmidlands meanderromantic weekendlast minute bookingfood was amazingget awaylovely roomexcellent staybeautiful settingthe cottages
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Hawklee Country House sits on the banks of the Lions River in the Midlands of Kwazulunatal.Our chalet was overlooking the river and the view was soothing to the soul.An excellent stress free getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the city.The hosts are friendly and welcoming.Rooms very clean and tidy.Tea, coffee and milk at your disposal. You can take a walk to the river and chill.The sounds of birds and gushing of the river gives you serenity.Loved our getaway and hope to go back.Thanks to the hosts.

Room Tip: Enchanting views
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Doraty

Thank you for taking the time to share your delight with your time spent at Hawklee Country House. It is definitely the best place to be to get rid of the stress of life. We felt it when we walked through the doors onto the deck and saw the river. The peace enters your soul and uplifts your being to allow you to cope with all life has to offer. Hawklee is a special place for a retreat or just a relaxing time spent by the river to rejeuvinate your soul. Dean and I hope to see you back at Hawklee soon
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The property is wonderful and in a beautiful setting. I had no complaints about the room. On the downside there were no robes or slippers which are advertised on the website. They had run out of coffee and only had decaf on offer. I had also been looking forward to a bit of fishing in the river but the water table had been very low so this was not possible. Overall it is a great place though and if you are just looking to get away for a night or two I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marksD4298FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Good day MarksD4298FP

Thank you for staying at Hawklee country house and your comments. You were on a reduced special tariff so no robes were supplied and booked Room only. If you had requested we would of supplied robes for your comfort. We did run out of Caffeinated Coffee, unfortunately our suppliers delivered de-caffeinated instead of caffeinated coffee. We supplied 4 de-caffeinated coffees in the room instead of 2 Caffeinated and 2 de-caffeinated and we apologies for this inconvenience, but did drive our 130 km to fetch Caffeinated coffee the next day from the supplier. We unfortunately cannot control our suppliers deliveries as they too make mistakes.
The river is starting to fill after our drought so we are very thankful and soon maybe the fishermen can try and see if they can catch some trout although with Otters in the river are a bit scarce as we explained.
Thank you for enjoying your stay
regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Brenda and Dean are very friendly and helpful hosts. Great food in a beautiful tranquil setting here. Highly recommended! I loved hearing the sounds of nature from our private cottage every morning and throughout the day.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CelineOcallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Good day Celine

Dean and I love it when we receive guests from other countries. Thank you for sharing South Africa with us and making it so pleasant to host you. We hope you will visit again when you tour South Africa
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Our little holiday to nottingham road was excellent, the accomodation being one of the best parts the hosts were super friendly and the cottage was always clean and the view from ours in the morning was superb!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 885nikitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Good day Nikita

Thank you for enjoying Hawklee to its best. The weather was superb for you and we were so happy you could explore the Midlands and enjoy all we have to offer. Dean and I loved hosting you and hope it is not too long before we see you at Hawklee again
Regards
Dean and Belinda @ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Hawklee. The rooms have beautiful big windows that look out onto the river and the bird life is amazing! Dean and Belinda are super helpful about the area and things to do. The rooms are really nice and spacious and the breakfast was also really good! We will definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, peaceful spot!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kearsney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Hi Kearsney

Thank you for coming to stay at Hawklee Country House. It was great seeing you after all those years and great catching up about our Highland Dancing times. Lovely meeting your husband and you both felt like family so we really enjoyed hosting you both. Till next time
Regards
Dean and Belinda @ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews