We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“harmony at Hawklee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawklee Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Hawklee Country House is situated along the beautiful Lions River. The views are breathtaking, the hosts were super friendly and helpful. The setting was one of tranquility, harmonious and super peaceful. The birdlife was out of this world, with lush green surroundings that was home to beautiful old trees. The cascades were stunning. Lots to love here!

Room Tip: all rooms seem to share the amazing views. Ive been told that the Rose Cottage is something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Delaine
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Hawklee. It takes a very special person to sense the love and care of a place and you were that couple. You are so right with the Birdlife we are a birders paradise with a huge variety of birds. Dean and I loved hosting you both and are happy we could share our love of Hawklee with you. Till next time at Hawklee
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Hawklee Country House sits on the banks of the Lions River in the Midlands of Kwazulunatal.Our chalet was overlooking the river and the view was soothing to the soul.An excellent stress free getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the city.The hosts are friendly and welcoming.Rooms very clean and tidy.Tea, coffee and milk at your disposal. You can take a walk to the river and chill.The sounds of birds and gushing of the river gives you serenity.Loved our getaway and hope to go back.Thanks to the hosts.

Room Tip: Enchanting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good day Doraty

Thank you for taking the time to share your delight with your time spent at Hawklee Country House. It is definitely the best place to be to get rid of the stress of life. We felt it when we walked through the doors onto the deck and saw the river. The peace enters your soul and uplifts your being to allow you to cope with all life has to offer. Hawklee is a special place for a retreat or just a relaxing time spent by the river to rejeuvinate your soul. Dean and I hope to see you back at Hawklee soon
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The property is wonderful and in a beautiful setting. I had no complaints about the room. On the downside there were no robes or slippers which are advertised on the website. They had run out of coffee and only had decaf on offer. I had also been looking forward to a bit of fishing in the river but the water table had been very low so this was not possible. Overall it is a great place though and if you are just looking to get away for a night or two I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marksD4298FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Good day MarksD4298FP

Thank you for staying at Hawklee country house and your comments. You were on a reduced special tariff so no robes were supplied and booked Room only. If you had requested we would of supplied robes for your comfort. We did run out of Caffeinated Coffee, unfortunately our suppliers delivered de-caffeinated instead of caffeinated coffee. We supplied 4 de-caffeinated coffees in the room instead of 2 Caffeinated and 2 de-caffeinated and we apologies for this inconvenience, but did drive our 130 km to fetch Caffeinated coffee the next day from the supplier. We unfortunately cannot control our suppliers deliveries as they too make mistakes.
The river is starting to fill after our drought so we are very thankful and soon maybe the fishermen can try and see if they can catch some trout although with Otters in the river are a bit scarce as we explained.
Thank you for enjoying your stay
regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Brenda and Dean are very friendly and helpful hosts. Great food in a beautiful tranquil setting here. Highly recommended! I loved hearing the sounds of nature from our private cottage every morning and throughout the day.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CelineOcallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Good day Celine

Dean and I love it when we receive guests from other countries. Thank you for sharing South Africa with us and making it so pleasant to host you. We hope you will visit again when you tour South Africa
Regards
Dean and Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Our little holiday to nottingham road was excellent, the accomodation being one of the best parts the hosts were super friendly and the cottage was always clean and the view from ours in the morning was superb!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 885nikitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Good day Nikita

Thank you for enjoying Hawklee to its best. The weather was superb for you and we were so happy you could explore the Midlands and enjoy all we have to offer. Dean and I loved hosting you and hope it is not too long before we see you at Hawklee again
Regards
Dean and Belinda @ Hawklee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
15.2 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
212 reviews
17.5 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
102 reviews
28.7 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
375 reviews
0.4 km away
Whispering Waters
Whispering Waters
#1 of 3 in Fort Nottingham
150 reviews
15.6 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawklee Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R1 023 - R1 647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing