We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$137
US$122
View deal
Hotels.comUS$137
PricelineUS$123
Expedia.comUS$137
eDreamsUS$122
TripadvisorUS$122
FindHotel
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
102
104
44
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
104
44
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie craft beer the pub lawn tennis brewing company english countryside old world charm midlands meander great beer hotel restaurant on tap standard room an overnight stay beautiful setting city life brewery george
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2020

We booked on line for the mid-week special offer of pay for 2 nights, get 1 free. also in the deal was 10% off 1 evening meal and 2 drinks along with a free bottle of wine on arrival. The room was stunning and huge with a separate dressing room and bathroom. Moses at reception was helpful but we needed to go back and get coffee. Breakfast was in a huge room with just a few other tables in use but staff were attentive and friendly. Food was good and plentiful. We stayed here as were are huge fans of the Nottie's Brewery and this deal gives 10% off their shop too, that shares the site and the beer was, as usual, fabulous.
We had our own table reserve each night and we had no quibbles with the food.
However this hotel tries to be an English pub and the food reflects that.
The staff thought we were nuts to want to swim at the beginning of March until we pointed out we are Scottish, we will swim in snow. Watching the monkeys was great fun.
The staff were great at pointing us in the direction of the pharmacy when I had been awake all night with Arthritis. We would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room tip: Use the offer in the review if you can, it so worth it. Ask for a lake view room.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steamy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Dean, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Hi, thank you for the magnificent review, we really look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

I stayed one night in this lovely ‘cottage’ style hotel , my room was spacious and opened on to a little garden , which all offered old world charm.

I most enjoyed the walk through the farmland to the restaurant nearby which surprisingly offered Austrian fare but also had other options. The walk with cattle in the nearby fields and views of small lakes was very charming.

I enjoyed one of the craft beers also .. very nice ... interesting to see G+T on tap also , I restrained myself.

Dinner in the bar of fish and chips was ok, breakfast was less inspiring with only a few options on the buffet but an adequate cooked option.

Hotel is set in beautiful parkland and is very characterful .

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Compass810298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Dean, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2020

Thank you for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

This hotel is in a lovely location but is definitely well on the way down. We arrived around 8 pm and when we asked about booking a table for dinner we were directed to the Pub (going past a kitchen where there was some serious argument in place) .
The pub had great beer but very poor food, sticky tables and awful decor including dirty slippy red plastic seating. As we finished our meal at 9 pm staff were hovering to clear away and shut the bar! It is advertised as having a brewery and great beer, clearly trying to copy an English pub but failing miserably. The breakfast the next day was served in a huge dining room with just 2 other tables occupied and a hovering waiter again. It is a bit off putting when your partner's plate is whisked away whilst you are still eating. The dining room and corridors smelt extremely musty and I think this smell was coming from the large number of mismatched old brown sideboards and dressers that occupy every spare wall. I would advise against staying here despite the lovely setting, it needs some serious money spending on it. So glad it was only a one night stay.

Room tip: Room 5 had a lovely bathroom
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Hi, thank you for the review and bringing your concerns to our attention, albeit on social media and not to us DIRECTLY. Firstly, allow me to apologise re the sticky tables, valid complaint that can be dealt with easily. I also agree that plates should not be whisked away while others are still eating, another issue i will have corrected immediately.

Please can i ask you to drop me an email on manager@rawdons.co.za so that i can get in touch with byou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

A perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life , the lush green landscape eases the mind and soul. All staff where very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are very neat , bathrooms are modern and spotless (just the way I like it)
Pub food was great , I’m now a fan of gin , we will be back

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank JamieC3759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thank you for the awesome review, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

On recommendation we stopped at this location for lunch. The setting was impressive with well kept gardens. The food was good, the pie was a bit overpriced for the offering. The beer and gin tasting was good.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RaviN_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thank you for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews