We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$245
View deal
Expedia.comUS$245
PricelineUS$258
Hotels.comUS$245
eDreamsUS$245
TravelocityUS$245
Agoda.comUS$261
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
236
64
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
64
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm village self catering superior room bedtime story attention to detail water features romantic getaway top class curry midlands meander delicious food the cottages a wonderful stay massage flotation skye setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute booking turned out extraordinary….Post Lock Down surprise was the revamp and upgrade that was amazing!!!! Jules is still the Super Star… love, warmth, attention to detail … was a breath of fresh air♥️ Room was great … Massages were really outstanding!! Recommended anytime you need a short weekend break that feels like a week long holiday… ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denoch996142
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr & Mrs Enoch,

We thank-you for taking the time to share your Fordoun experience on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate your kind support and valued feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and embraced the spa, Skye Bistro and gratifying to know you like our new decor. It gives us such pleasure to host such special guests!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Fordoun regards,
The Fordoun Team - Rich (MD, Jules (GM) and Molly (Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gorgeous setting with the lush green pastures and tasteful décor.
Staff at spa and restaurant very friendly and helpful.
We stayed at the superior rooms ( room 21) . Beautifully decorated however the heating needs improvement. The fire place does not warm the room and something was wrong with the timer for the underfloor heating. This made the dressing area and bathroom very cold.
The lounge area could not be enjoyed due to the cold weather and poor heating in the room. I also had to inform the staff that the hot water ran out after 5 minutes in the shower.
There was a delay at supper due to the large volumes of orders that went into the kitchen at once. My food was divine however my husbands Salmon was burnt. He did inform the staff , who prepared another dish for him and that was enjoyable and appreciated.
Overall good stay however would advise that the superior rooms are only booked in summer or until the heating in the room is improved.

Room tip: superior room had bad heating - perhaps book in summer
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesAlw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Darryl and Desmay,

We thank-you for taking the time to share your Fordoun experience on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate your kind support and valued feedback. We sincerely apologise for the fire not warming your room appropriately and for the poor heating. Our maintenance team have adjusted the timer for the floor and showers. Sadly it was also a very cold, misty Midlands day and so sorry.

Our Chef Jono apologises again for the overcooked salmon and looks forward to introducing our new Spring menu to you on your return.

On behalf of the Fordoun team, we sincerely apologise for the above mishaps and hoping to welcome you back soon for a 5 star experience.

Warm Fordoun regards,
The Fordoun Team - Rich (MD, Jules (GM) and Molly (Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights here on a business trip. The food both at breakfast and dinner is phenomenal- can compare to any 5 star establishment in the city. The rooms are spacious but there were alot of cobwebs on ceiling and wifi was very poor hence would rate 3.9

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank nivashap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nivasha,

We thank-you for taking the time to share your Fordoun experience on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate your kind support and valued feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our offerings. We apologise for the cobwebs. Our housekeeping team is fully aware of your comment below and accountable for checking all rooms thoroughly.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Fordoun regards and take care,
The Fordoun Team - Rich (MD, Jules (GM) and Molly (Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021

A perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life , the lush green landscape eases the mind and soul. All staff from the reception, spa, kitchen & house keeping where very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are very spacious & neat , bathrooms are modern and spotless (just the way I like it)

Stayed in the Superior Suite which was simply the best.

Food was good & was very impressed that even though the menu was limited, they catered to the best.

Will definitely be visiting again.

Sherry Baijnath

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sherry,

On behalf of the Fordoun team we thank-you wholeheartedly for your kind words and and support.

We are delighted you had a wonderful relaxing time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Our culinary team have extended our limited menu and look forward to launching our new Spring menu on the 1 October 2021. We look forward to sharing it with you as we focus on fresh, local and homegrown produce!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank-you again for your kind review and support - most appreciated during these times.

Stay safe and healthy and hope to see you soon!

Warm Fordoun regards,
Rich, Jules, Molly and the Fordoun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021

Lived up to expectation - nice to get what you plan for
Rooms were very good - warm in winter with all the trimmings
Pity the restaurant menu, food a little disappointing
Choice of food unimaginative, also everything we tried was very fatty / oily

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear Richard,

On behalf of the Fordoun team we thank-you wholeheartedly for your kind words and sincere apologies the culinary experience was not exceptional! The Skye Bistro menu was condensed during the uncertain Covid lockdown period and we are delighted to inform you that our new chef, Jonno has started and will be introducing a fresh, seasonal Spring menu on the 1 September 2021.
The menu has been designed to cater for all palettes and huge focus on local, fresh fare!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank-you so much for your kind review and support - most appreciated during these times.

Stay safe and healthy and hope to see you soon!

Warm Fordoun regards,
Rich, Jules, Molly and the Fordoun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews