We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
180
55
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
55
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflotation poolfarm villagemountain viewoutdoor showerself cateringattention to detailfood and winecrane foundationsuperior roomunderfloor heatingdressing rooma real treattreatment roomssteam roomfine diningsouth africanatal midlands
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Spent a night in April as I was given a mum's package. Very disappointed with the spa
My package includes a manicure pedicure and facial. The manicure was smudged and I was told they were too busy to 're do 2 nails. So came straight home and took all the varnish off. The pedicure chipped and came off 1 toe nail completely within 3 week's. Will not be returning for treatments again. I also don't think it's right to be presented by a bill to sign with place for gratuity when you have been given it as a gift.
Service friendly as usual and dinner excellent. Venue is lovely.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank nwalters2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Nwalters

Thanks for your feedback it is greatly appreciated.

I am glad you are going to be coming back to the Spa, hopefully we take the opportunity to rectify our mistakes.

Kind regards

Richard Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Our Superior room , was extremely well furnished, with lounge , dressing room, and a stunning bathroom - which included an outdoor shower, with a beautiful view of the Drakensberg in the distance.Inderfloor heating and a fireplace ensured we kept warm. THE most comfortable bed I've slept in ! The Skye restaurant is superb, and the Duck was probably the best I've eaten anywhere in the world ! A superb wine list , ranging from R100 to over R500 a bottle, thus catering for all tastes. The breakfast menu offers an extremely wide choice, and I settled for the Toasted Brioche Bread Topped with Grilled Rainbow Trout, Poached Egg, Rocket and Hollandaise Sauce.A great choice ! The Spa treatment also ranked amongst the best I've experienced with the 90 Minute Afrique Gold deep moisturising treatment well worth the time. Congratulations to Richard Bates and his team for world class service ! We will be back!

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are superb!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Timboos

Thanks so much for your wonderfully detailed review.

It is great to get such positive feedback, very encouraging to know we are on the right track.

Hope you have a fantastic year.

Warm regards

Richard Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Fordoun has recently won an award for ‘Best value for money’ and while this is undoubtedly true, it is so much more. Fordoun is five star luxury in beautiful surroundings with cheerful staff, a top class spa and exquisite cuisine. Verandas overlook the beautiful trees, immaculate lawns and a herd of fat, contented cows, ducks, sheep and Hadedas. In all seasons, Fordoun charms and delights guests.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank ginamarucchi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Ginamarucchi20

Thanks so much for your kind words.

They are truly appreciated.

Regards

Richard Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We were staying there for one night. Pretty spontaneously booked...
The rooms are all in little houses by it self, so it looked like a small village. The room is big and nice! The bathroom has even a floor heating-what we appreciated!!
The spa is in another little house and is quite nice. Not really big, but has a pool, sauna, steam bath and gym. We booked a treatment which was really good.
The dinner was delicious and the service friendly!
I don‘t give 5 points because the spa is not a five star standard for me and it‘s getting a bit „old fashioned“.
However, we loved to stay there and it was really relaxing!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LiiLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Liilee

Thanks so much for your positive comments, and feedback it is greatly appreciated.

I am sorry you found the Spa small and outdated. It is the biggest Spa that I have been to with 13 treatment rooms, an indoor and out door swimming pool, a floatation pool, a sauna and steam room, gym, yoga room, rasul and lounges. You will be happy to know that we are doing a full upgrade to the Spa this year as we understand the value in trying to keep fashionable.

Once again appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards

Richard Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We spent a weekend staying at the Fordoun Farm Village a week ago and we are already thinking about when we can go back! The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed several meals at the hotel even though we were in the self-catering chalet. The meals were delicious! The chalet was well equipped with everything you would need to cook your own meals though. The beds were comfortable and the chalets were clean and beautiful. We enjoyed a session in the flotation tank at the Spa and we can highly recommend it! The Spa was lovely and we look forward to having some treatments next time we visit. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahfP1063KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Sarah

Thanks so much for your review, it is encouraging to know we are on the right track.

Kind regards

Richard Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews